Rainy Tuesday Run!

in #running6 years ago

Rainy Tuesday in Boston

Rest-ish day, clocking in just about 5 miles. The weather was a little rainy, so I decided to take it a little easier.

Screen Shot 2018-05-22 at 7.24.13 PM.png

On my commute today, I was hooked on the audiobook of 'The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck' (shoutout to the audible month free trial), and continued to listen throughout my run. I'm only about half way through, but I'm loving it so far.

It does a pretty damn good job at describing what it feels like to be going through life in this technological world, and the effect that the internet is having on society as a whole. One of the quotes that stuck with me was the author's view on why some people want to live an extraordinary life so badly, that they forgo all things ordinary-

That’s because these things are ordinary. But maybe they’re ordinary for a reason: because they are what actually matters

Reminded me a lot of one of my favorite scenes in one of my favorite movies, Good Will Hunting.

Sometimes the things that seem so ordinary, so small, could be the things that mean the most to you. And these things that come across as 'ordinary', are only ordinary because they are what we all want.

I'm not philosopher (just a Phil), and I can't write real good, but running alone for a while really gets my mind thinking of all the little things.

Have a great week, and keep running!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66524.25
ETH 3616.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81