#27 Interval training

in #running6 years ago

Most of the time when I have interval training I choose running on the bike path next to the road so I can run without interruption. But yesterday I wanted to do intervals in the wood, where I often go when I have long-run day.

Here is my dear overused bike, which I rode to get to quiet nature area : 20180214_170325.jpg

And a bit of nature...Many times I've seen these wild cows, but this time they were far away, I couldn't make a proper photo.
20180214_175448.jpg

Look what recent storm has done here...
20180214_175014.jpg

I brought jumping rope to warm up a bit, but there was no point in that because it was deformed, so I just went run.
My plan was 10 minutes warming up and then 10 repeating with 1'10" hight tempo, and 30" easy tempo run and then 15' cooling down.

Somewhere around 8th repeating I felt pain on the right side under my rib. I realised that I should've waited a bit more before I go running. An hour before training I ate big cake.. Because of the pain, I had to stop after I finished 10th repeating. I walked a bit, until the pain was gone and then I run about 2km in relaxing, cooling down tempo.

20180215_092345.jpg

Here are the small sections where I was switching the speed:

20180215_092242.jpg

Another part. Take a look at the speed for the last section :) 3079.44km/h
My crazy watch, lol

20180215_092507.jpg

Next training is on Friday, where I plan a long run 9-10km, easy tempo.

Cheers,
@nelzie

Sort:  

WIld cows! That’s a new running hazard :)

Yeah, a bit adrenalin won't hurt :D
I see them often. I usually don't take my phone with me, here is what I saw in March (orange ones are from another wood), and the white ones belong to the place I've ran through yesterday. Will make a selfie with them (from a safe distance of course) , I promise:)
IMG_20170321_215738_856.jpg

IMG_20170928_180439_866.jpg

Wow I like the cows on your pictures! Also great pictures you made there :)
We don't have wild cows here in Germany. At least not where I live.

Thanks :) Are you sure that there are no such cows in Germany too? Maybe only in lower altitude regions?
However, in Germany you have mountains and other sorts of animals, which we don't have.

We have a lot of deer in our woods :)

Nice! I saw here also few times but they are so fast, it is impossible to make a picture

Woah! Awesome pics. I’m guessing, or hoping they aren’t very aggressive. In the western US we have bison, and people think they are gentle and then get mauled. My only wildlife danger in New Jersey are geese :). But they can be scary when protecting the heir young.

A friend of mine is saying that these are bisons, but some are saying wild cows or some other name (I can't remember at this moment).
Can you make a photo of the geese? They must be very interesting. I only know when geese are angry, they make funny noise. Do your geese do the same?
About my cows (there are sheep and goats too...very beautiful sorts) .. I don't know if they would be aggressive, I wouldn't dare to test them, they are so huge. Few months ago it was on news from other region, one woman was injured, but she came very close and actually provoked to be injured.
When the cows happen to sit on the middle on my path, I just change direction or go around, to be sure. Most scariest moments are when they are approaching where the path seems to be more narrow then it is. :D But the cows stay away from people, too

I will try to remember to take a picture of geese some time. Soon there will be lots of babies! You just reminded me of a time when I was hiking in Wyom and we had a looong showdown with a moose. We just stood in one spot for about an hour and I don’t think it took its eyes off us once. Every time we stared to move it would grunt and shuffle its feet like it was getting read to charge. Luckily my wife and I were with her brother who knew not to try to move away too quickly. Eventually though we had no choice and just started moving very slowly, like one step every minute, until he seemed to be over us.

Were you very close to the moose? Scary if you were. Good that there was someone who knew what to do.

Very close. It was terrifying and exciting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87