The Countdown Begins -- Lets Set Some (realistic) Goals!

in #running6 years ago

Looks like I've got about 10 weeks to somehow get back into decent enough shape for the half-marathon I've signed up for. It's been a while since I have ran that distance, but I'm looking forward to the journey -- I'm finding it to be quite the motivator currently. Probably not the worst idea to take a trip down memory lane and see how some of my old races went...

2013 BMO Okanagan Half Marathon (21.1km):

This was the first halfie I ever ran. I was pretty unprepared for it. I think, before race day, the farthest I ever ran was about 13 km -- but I had decided to just bite down and push through. I ended up finishing with a please 2h:14m time, and was committed to improving for next year. I actually ended up getting REALLY sick the night before the race. I think I got nervous -- I had told so many people I would be running, and was scared to disappoint. I ended up throwing up and dry heaving until about midnight the night before the race -- but I suppose I also lost about 5~10 pounds, so I had that goin' for me.

2014 Okanagan College Half Maraton (April).

Significant improvement for this race. Managed to get in at around 1hr:48minutes. I was SUPER happy about this time. Almost a 5min/km pace. I had never run quite so hard.

2014 Whistler Half Marathon (June).

This race was probably the highlight of my running 'career' -- not that it can be called that. The run was in beautiful Whistler BC, and was pretty hilly -- which was my jam. I spent a lot of time doing hill-training. I was off in Calgary for the summer for work on a co-op semester from school. All I did every day was bike to and from work, then go to the climbing gym or go running about 5 days a week each. I was on a FUCKING roll. This was the first and only time I've ever beaten my brother @jkms, and it felt fucking awesome. I almost cried at the end of the race. Solid 5min/km pace.

2016 BMO Okanagan Half Marathon

Turns out that I changed gears a little bit and started doing some training more geared towards full marathons -- which I never really excelled at. There were a few injuries here and there, and I finished university in 2015 -- which really made it come crashing home that having to manage a full-time job can seriously cut into the amount of time I've got to train. Crankin' out a 1+hr run every day is a lot easier when you're 600km away from friends, family, and fun.


Off the Cuff Goal Setting:

Looking back on my performance on these runs -- I've oscillated between 2hr:15m and 1hr:45m generally. I like to try to set moderately ambitious goals -- and I've run a few 10km races this year, so I think I've got a sense of where my cardio is at. I'd like to manage to finish this upcoming halfie in or around the 1hr:55m time-frame. Keeping it a little quicker than 5:30/km pace seems like an achievable goal.

Looking forward to getting into my training at full-speed again! Here's hoping that works stops getting in the way soon.

Sort:  

Are you following a training program right now? If not, how do you decide what distance and pace to run?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60708.09
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58