#Playlisting: New Beginnings

in #running5 years ago (edited)

November 14 2018

PLAYLIST : New Beginnings
LOCATION: Canyon Dr.
Strain: KNBIS Gelato OG

I know I should probably give the Running Reflection #playlist another go around before I shelf it but, tonight is a night like no others. Tonight I'll be running with an actual running partner. My buddy G and I will be hitting up Canyon Dr...high, of course. That's right, two psychopaths running down the middle of the street, flyin high. Running Reflection will come back around for sure. There's always time. I even went ahead and subscribed to Apple Music. Man, can you believe it? I was so tired of downloading the stuff from YouTube. Better to pay for the things you like anyway.

The second thing that's completely new about this evening, so, G agreed to run with me but, before he did, I requested some music ideas from him. I told him to send me stuff that was "cinematic" whatever the hell that means. Here are the three songs he sent:

Unmade by Thom Yorke (Can't get enough of this guy)
Hunnybee by Unknown Mortal Orchestra (This is an interesting one. I might plant this in my spot 1 tonight and see how it goes).
There's A Girl At The Corner by Twilight Sad (This one kind of washed over me a bit but I'll give it a go anyway).

I figured these were some great suggestions to start with so why not place them all into a #playlist and see if they stick. I named this #playlist "Running Free". I started to choose other stuff at random to see if it fit:

  1. Hunnybee by Unknown Mortal Orchestra
  2. There's a Girl in the Corner by The Twilight Sad (Skipped)
  3. Prom Night by Anamanaguchi
  4. Unmade by Thom Yorke (Great but, it's gonna go)
  5. The World At Large by Modest Mouse
  6. Float On by Modest Mouse (I always feel like you have to listen to World At Large to earn this song.)
  7. Pumped Up Kicks by Foster The People (Skipped)
  8. Florida by Animal Collective
  9. Honey Honey by Feist (Nice cool down)
  10. Atoms for Peace by Thom Yorke (Although good, I had trouble really distinguishing this one while playing. Landed a little flat for me).
  11. Has Ended by Thom Yorke (Skipped)
  12. Sealion by Feist (Really a solid number 7 or 9, a lead to a bigger thing, not tough enough for the ending.)

This one is like a pile of mush that I have to sift through. A lot of work to be done but ultimately some really explosive stuff. Running with G was a pleasure. Here are some of the highlights:

Gio_Running_01_11_14_2018_Michael_Oshins.JPG
Michael_Running_11_14_2018_Michael_Oshins0.JPG
Gio_Running_03_11_14_2018_Michael_Oshins.JPG
Michael_Running_11_14_2018_Michael_Oshins1.JPG
Gio_Running_04_11_14_2018_Michael_Oshins.JPG
Michael_Running_11_14_2018_Michael_Oshins6.JPG
Gio_Running_02_11_14_2018_Michael_Oshins.JPG
Michael_Running_11_14_2018_Michael_Oshins2.JPG

You pontificate a lot on one of these excursions. They're really more experiences than runs. Sort of like sitting down and watching a movie unfold before you. For instance, I thought of a great character for a movie while I was at it. What if there was a character that would be available to speak with at any time of the day or night for free, as long as you waited in line. I played with the idea for a bit. I come up with all sorts of funny things while #playlisting.

One song I really want to not is Prom Night by Ananamaguchi. This thing is like a jolt of electricity. It gave me a crazy boost, arms flailing, dancing and running at the same time. I was telling G that these #playlists are like my battery pack. They tell me when to speed up and slow down and, along with the strain, these songs give me an unbelievable amount of energy. Each one different. I feel like I'll be working on this one for a little bit. More updates to come.

Again, if you have any ideas or if you've got your own #runninghigh experience, share it with me in the comments. If you like what you're reading, resteem and upvote. Why not?

One thing that G and I spoke about afterward was the prospect of syncing #playlists and seeing how we both reacted. We both started with Hunnybee which was cool but, I felt it may belong somewhere else in the track list. Regardless, I made it through and went onto Running Reflection. Pretty fun experience.

See you next time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27