Starting my mornings right with a run

in #running7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180120_080214.jpg

20 January 2018 : I always love to start my day with a run. This morning was no different.

I will be running a full marathon of 42.195km at the Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2018 on 8 April 2018 and this is my 7th week of training.

The menu today was to run 8 miles, 8 hills at marathon pace.

By marathon pace, this means training oneself to run at the pace one would expect to run during the actual race day for almost the entire duration of the training distance.

The run would start with a warm up, and gradually increase speed until marathon pace is reached.

Try to hold the pace as long as possible, then slow down to a 5 - minute jog to cool down.

I always add hills to my runs not just to keep the boredom at bay but to also build strength and stamina.

Here's my personal quote:

"For it is only when you learn to love and embrace the hills, even the flats will seem like a highway." ~ JL, the running photog.

I have found that this same principle may be applied to everyday life as well.

If you are free, check out my blog on my running exploits and race reports I have written in the past, over a cup of coffee :
www.runningphotog.blogspot.my

Sort:  

I signed up for the same run as well. I am running for a half marathon. Used to run when I was in secondary school then my belly stopped me.

All the best! Happy training!

Welcome on board Julia... You can add #teammalaysia tag. We have community there

Welcome Julia! Are you raising funds through your run? I know one of my friend is, so just curious.

Hi. Thanks for the welcome.
I didn't register under the 'Run For A Reason' fundraising category this year.
A fewyears ago, when I ran KL Marathon, I volunteered as a running guide for a visually impaired school kid under the Seeing Is Believing initiative.
Then a couple of years later, I ran to promote awareness of HIV.
This year, it is highly likely that I will be promoting another awareness campaign during this race. We shall see...

And we shall monitor!

No better way to start the day @jlrunningphotog

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44