Black to gold

in #running7 years ago

Black to Gold
13 Apr 2017
|

Friday, April 7, 2017
My train leaves Rotterdam at 10:35 am to fulfill my long-cherished wish. The Rotterdam Marathon. With a small suitcase and bag in the train. Not much later it is announced that between the Hoogeveen - Meppel route no more trains run, but buses are being used. Bales, .. but okay. That's just the way it is. Once in Hoogeveen, there are about 400 people waiting. Unfortunately, I can not yet discover a bus. To put things in perspective ... are more runners going to Rotterdam today? "I ask myself ..
Organisationally, it starts slowly. Everyone in the bus towards the station of Meppel. Fortunately there is a train ready which leaves for Zwolle within a few minutes. One more transfer and then I arrive at the Rotterdam Central station. When I check out I am immediately confronted with the marathon atmosphere.

I have often seen the film The Marathon. "Could I deliver this achievement?"
What is it great, busy and what beautiful buildings I thought.
I continued my way to the Inntel Hotel Rotterdam Center where I stay until Monday. Almost immediately after the station, I see the preparations in full. Fences, flags, and in the distance I hear loud music at the WTC. I can pick up my number and t-shirt with my ticket. I decide to go to the hotel first to check in. It is about a quarter of an hour walk from the station. In retrospect ideal because the start and finish was later on five minutes walking distance from the hotel.
The key of my hotel room is handed over by the receptionist and I could move on to the 11th floor. That promised a top view! And that's it. Although it is even more beautiful in the evening.

WTC
Since I am alone and want to taste atmosphere, I leave for the WTC. Just (short) in line and my race number is in the pocket. Like I said before, tight organization. In a next hall I can pick up a T-shirt. In the field of running accessories, I am good here! Just nice to walk around. Of course I prepared well and did not need anything else. Enough atmosphere tasted for now ..
..Need to do some shopping as I have to eat at seven times of the day. No punishment!

Slowly I walk back to the hotel and of course I eat pasta. Then used the swimming pool, spa and sauna. A conscious choice i.v. the run of Sunday, recover!

Sunday 9 April 2017
It is then, a day where I have lived and trained. At least once or twice a week. Proud of the hail, rain, frost but also the heat. Sometimes according to schedule, more often at my own discretion without burdening my muscles.
I started running a lot because I often had a headache, migraine - every day. There was also a number of kilos off. Because of the many training hours in recent years I have had almost no migraine and 15 kilos lighter.
At the end of last year I ran the half marathon in Amsterdam for the first time. I do not forget the moment on arrival at the Olympic stadium. Afterwards I said immediately that a whole Marathon will be my next mission, although this mission, the marathon is a time away.

The start
You wake up and realize it is Raceday! The alarm goes at 6.00 am. Immediately get up and take a few slices of bread with lots of water, beet juice and Pre energy drink. Unfortunately no coffee .. The ritual begins. The registration of the starting number as well as the adjustment of the drinking bag. Is my phone full enough? Is the music, sunglasses? Mindset? 10 x polar bears through the room etc. With sufficient moisture and food I walk towards the start ...

It's 10:00 o'clock Lee Towers reverberates through the streets .. After more than 37 minutes, movement starts in wave 5. I notice that I am completely behind. This may take some time. Over the line, you realize that you started. Each step is one to that coveted medal. My most achieved distance in the training was 30.5 km. The first kilometers are over. It goes pretty well. I notice that everyone is catching up with me at a slow pace. According to the weather forecast, it would be 20 - 22 degrees today. I reached the point of a half marathon, realizing that I still have to cover such a distance. We go on.

I fill my drinking bag with cold water once. As long as I am satisfied with the cold Drinks that are offered. The public is now starting to become more enthusiastic. They have to realize that from now on it will become heavy. They start calling my name. "Come on, always straight ahead!" It starts with the 36 km heavy. The long stretch through the forest is almost nobody. A few with winegums or tea. I assume that. Luckily I do not have to use a first aid post yet. They are clearly visible. The last few kilometers, what an audience. I am applauded and encouraged by a lock consisting of people with an opening of about two meters. "You are almost there!" With the Coolsingel in sight, I no longer have any energy. The audience gives me back that lost energy and can even get a sprint out of it. I realize that I have made it. 42,195 kilometers. I received a medal.

IMG_6509.jpg

After winning this victory, I take the time to recover. During the recovery I read a lot of stories from other heroes. This motivates to continue. As soon as I know what my next challenge is going to be, I will share

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63