Bear Lake Run Stroller Push #2

in #running6 years ago (edited)

02.jpg

Nice day for a run around the lake for my runforsteem entry. I took the boys up this morning a little before noon and got to doing my laps. The water in the lake is still high so a part of the paved trail is still underwater which means I HAVE to go up the trail. Today that was a good thing since I found myself a couple of small boulders that look like I can put up a couple of bouldering problems. They won't be much but they will be close to the house and they will get my hands calloused a bit.

05.jpg

I ran 2 laps around the lake which is 2.5 miles and then stopped at the playground to let the boys out for a bit. I let them play and after about 12 minutes we were back on the trail where I did 2 more laps before stopping to let them play some more.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/2736959661#

Capture.JPG

The lake has a good balance of shade and sun around it which gives some good motivation. "I'll kick to the shade where I can drop my pace then kick to the next shade." Which only works for so long before I get a bit tired. The patch is wide enough but there are the regular people who are completely oblivious to everything around them and take up the whole thing. Today everyone was pretty good about giving room for us to pass.

IMG_20180529_121817490.jpg

Along the trail there are these native Orange Honeysuckle that are in full flower right now. They are growing in 3 or 4 spots around the lake but none are on the water, they are all 50+ feet away. All are climbing up the pine and fir trees. I saw them on the first lap and by the 3rd I had stopped for pictures. The things were glowing as the sun hit them, especially compared to the subdued greens and browns all around them.

1.jpg

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, following, or setting us to autovote on SteemAuto!


Sort:  

That stroller needs air conditioning. Looks like a steam bath in there

I have thought of putting one of the solar powered fans that can go in cars in the stroller, just haven't taken the time to buy one yet. It get's pretty good flow through ventilation but only when moving.

I'm going to need to find a good conversion for all the miles pace, to my KM' to I can start comparing, I feel like I push the stroller way way slower.

You could do a script to auto convert or a spreadsheet?

I can say unequivocally that I push the stroller a good minute to 2 minutes per mile slower than my average pace. Especially when I am not in shape. As I get more in shape my time does come down, but now the boys are heavier I think I am a bit boned as far as quicker goes

That sounds intense I could probably figure out a formula, can’t say I’m that serious. I finally ran the other day without the stroller and it was pretty slow. Need to drop 10lbs and get back to training.

Well, one other way that works for me is use two sites. I have my Garmin watch that uploads to their site and then connects to both Strava and Runalyze. I have Strava set to KM and my Garmin is set to miles. I've split screen the data before when looking at some longer runs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81