Celje Logarska 75K Ultramarathon, September 5th 2006 - Running Blast From The Past

in #running5 years ago (edited)

These photos were made by my wife on September the 5th in 2006 in the village of Solčava, Slovenia, some 13 kilometers before the finish line of the mythical Celje to Logarska Valley ultramarathon run.

The event is a traditional long distance run partly on roads with some of it on the tarmac and single paths. It goes by Savinja river from the city of Celje way up to the upper end of fabulous Logarska Valley

The day was hot yet I was well prepared for the occasion. Even the winding road before Solčava couldn't stop my constant pace.

Running up in Solčava

You can see I was searching for every inch of shade to ease the heat of the day.

image.png

Water is everything

Sitting at the back of our trusty old Berlingo and drinking water by gallons.

image.png

Thanks a lot!

My father in law waited for me and helped me along the road. Thanks a lot, it was a really welcomed help.

image.png

I finished the run in seven hours 23 minutes. A decent time considering the circumstances. We as a team were all very satisfied with the outcome.


Better and better

Sort:  

What an historical post my friend!!! You are my man!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Merci :)

My wife found these old paper photos today. I had to scan and post them :)

Hey mate, congrats!
But tell me: the event was in 2006 (title) or 2016 (description)?

Cheers!

Hey, thanks a lot for being a careful reader. 2006, corrected.

I'm naturally proofreader, LOL!
Good night!

Gutsy performance, have to give it to you for finishing despite the heat.

Thanks a lot!

After 60+ kilometers there is no other option except to continue to the finish line :)

You know, in the past years, when I was preparing for this event, I often run at noon in the summer heat to become accustomed to the heat. It paid off.

It certainly did. Running a full Marathon has been a goal for sometime now... Even though I can barely run 5km without nearly passing out.

You serve as an inspiration

No matter the others, get focus on the goal...just stand up, breathe and RUN!!!
...but don't expect to win every time :-)
.

@runningproject quote

*Resteemed by @runningproject

Check more about @runningproject at this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77