I run for STEEM (#runforsteem), or beer, or ice-cream, or pretty much anything really

in #runforsteem6 years ago

It seems to becoming a bit of a thing on Steemit to reward people for doing things in real life, like running. First off, @dragosrous created RUNCOIN and handed them out to people who ran and uploaded Proof of Run. I got a bunch of RUNCOIN and enjoyed the process of ‘mining’ it very much.

Now @jumowa is paying out STEEM to people how enter his challenge and upload Proof of Run. If I’m going to be running anyway, I might as well get paid for it, right?

So here we go – my first entry for #runforsteem taken from Garmin Connect.

por-1.PNG

This was a good hard run and my leg knew they’d been through a workout by the end of it. But the lure of STEEM kept me going.

Why don’t you give it a go?


Check out my stories here on Steemit

Running Deer

Running Deer - part 1
Running Deer - How legends are born

Charlie Rabbit

Meet Charlie Rabbit
Charlie tides up
Charlie Rabbit and Margery Mouse
Charlie Rabbit and Margery Mouse make music

Little Peppers Adventures

Runaway Rabbit and the hungry fox
Maybe and the land of purple rainbows – A Little Peppers adventure
How Pappa Pepper and Monster Truck the Pepper got their wild hogs - a Little Peppers Adeventure

Dark Angel Regiment of the Space Marines - Mission Files

First Squad Sniper Elite - Zaresith mission

Other stories

Stranded
The Lady Of The Lake


Also don't forget to check out my Dad's blog

Who else can tell you stories about impersonating an officer, stealing a military aircraft to go on a booze run, or steal military aircraft and go on an unsanctioned bombing run - and that's all before he turned 18!

Check out @len.george and find out what other madness he got up to!


Are you new to Steemit and trying to figure out what it's all about?

Head over to: https://www.steemithelp.net/. It's the best place to get a handle on what the platform is all about.


Sort:  

Why don’t you give it a go?
I was born with legs not wheels,

it's a new thing for me @trevor.george

Keep on running, no matter the prize! 😜

Really interesting, I'll try it right away!

Thank you Trevor for participating in this weeks #runforsteem #challenge. We aren't big yet but we grew by 200% since we started the week before.

Crazy distance! you are a machine!

Thanks for that. i hope it all grows like topsy and you get loads of people participating ;-)

The distance was not so much, but there was some good elevation in that run, a bit over 1000 metres. And loads of gorse bushes.

I'll try to get the video of it up today.

It's one of those weird things though.... the same as when I was getting RUNCOIN from @dragosroua, if I was going to enter a run, I wanted it to be a good one, one that I worked hard on. Not just quick 10km round the block sort of run.

And that's one of the nice things about these sorts of challenges - they encourage me to go longer and harder. So thanks for starting this up. Let's see where it all goes........ ;-)

Not just quick 10km round the block sort of run.

Oh jeez, makin us normies feel bad.

No, don't feel bad. Your run is your run. There are a lot of people running longer than me and almost all of them run faster than me. So don't compare your run to mine, compare your run to your last run (or previous runs).

We are all doing it for different reasons and targeting different distances. For example, my brother-in-law is targeting a trail marathon next year. I'm targeting the ultra marathon in the same race. I did it this year and got dead last. So I'm hoping to improve that finish next year :-) He has very long legs and runs so much faster than me, but I do much longer distances than he does.

So we each have our own strengths and strategies. Just enjoy the running and don't try to compete with others (unless you're in a race). you'll find it all works much better that way ;-)

Thank you for this! Very encouraging - I want to get out running again - we have been mostly doing hiking for the last few years, thus I usually only run downhill ;p

hehehe I know what you mean. I picked my 10km circuit because it is mostly flat. but that did not serve me quite so well in my last ultra, so now I'm getting my hill work in also.

And in doing so I have learned how to run up hills in a way that is so much easier than the way I used to do it. I'm finding I can tackle big hills, going up and coming back down, without the usual heart attack and aching knees.

But with all that, when I get to a flat(ter) section it's always a relief ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16