Run For Steem: Race Day Cometh

Hey guys!  I am joining in on one more week of @jumowa's #runforsteem challenge before my half marathon on Saturday.  The latest contest post can be found here to join in with us!  I'll put in a little reminder for my own contest to guess my race time.  You still have until the end of the day Friday to join in.  Thanks for all of the great guesses so far!  I look forward to updating everyone after I cross the finish line. :)


I have a few more easy runs to get in before race day, but I'm also spending a good bit of time on mobility work and optimal fueling.  Yesterday I had a slightly painful, but much needed sports massage.  My hamstrings have been rock hard lately--not in a good way!  I got rained out today after about 15 minutes outside, so I logged another 20 minutes on the treadmill before another 20 minutes of yoga and stretching.  The good part about stretching at work is that I get to put on some guilty-pleasure shows on Food Network or HGTV.  Makes the discomfort pass easier, haha!



I did this particular run this past Friday, but I will most likely do something similar tomorrow.  It was a short Fartlek around the Braves stadium.  I like that I have lots of stairs, bridges and some hills to add in variety to my runs.  I used a few of the bridges that have a downward slope to do some last-minute downhill speed work.  Nothing crazy, but trying to keep my legs ready for the course on Saturday.



Not quite sure about that 4:06 fastest time, but maybe I was really booking it on one of the downhill sprints. ;)  Thursday I will most likely take a rest day with some more mobility work.  Friday I'll get an easy run, pack my bag and head up to spend the night closer to the race start!  It's always a little tough spending the night away from home before a race, but I usually get a little jittery and can't sleep well anyway.  We'll be staying with @dksart's parents, so much better than a hotel.  Then I can sleep in a little bit later as it saves us a 90-minute drive on the morning of the race.

I'll pop back in with one last contest reminder on Friday, but other than that this will be my last running post until I update you guys on my race time!  Looking forward to another great day to let loose and see what my legs can do!

Happy running!

Sort:  

Have fun on your marathon ✊

I'll try to keep smiling throughout. :)

Good luck dear Katie!🤞🏻

Thank you my friend! :)

Good luck on your half marathon!

Thanks @argon! I'm going to try to channel some of your speed. ;)

Good luck, I bet you'll do GREAT!

Thanks! About to head out for an easy run in just a bit. I'll definitely do a little positive visualization for Saturday. :)

Good luck my friend! I know you will do well. I'll be thinking about you on Saturday! Those butterflies are good for you! lol Good weather forecasted for race day?

Looks like it should be pretty clear and mid to high 40's at the race start! I'm quite ok with that forecast. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91