Run for Steem - Single Track Heaven

in #runforsteem6 years ago

As I try to gradually move my mileage back up after my latest injury induced running break, the temps and humidity are starting to rise. The heat and humidity remind me how out of shape I’ve gotten. I went out Thursday evening in 94 degree temps and got my butt kicked. My two mile trail run with about 300 feet of elevation gain promptly turned into a run walk. But at least my hamstring felt good. Today’s temperature dropped back to 61 and overcast and it was a wonderful morning for a run. I ended my 2.5 miles this morning at this little creek and it was very relaxing doing my cooldown stretches with this bubbling little backdrop.

2720D463-B2E2-4817-9361-B24CBEACFE1E.jpeg

754A1D65-E2D5-4BCE-B279-3153062E7405.png

The humidity was nonexistent this morning and the trails were fairly empty. For me, there is nothing better than running on single track trails like the one in the photo below. It was very tempting to stay out longer but when I give into those temptations is usually when I injure myself.

B7FCE8FB-E1C2-486F-8FA1-5F052085F1BF.jpeg

I’m satisfied with the small bump up in mileage from last week and I hit my goals this week for intensity minutes on my Garmin fenix 3 sport watch. My plan (if I stick to it) is to build a solid base at 3 miles for the next two months before ramping up my distance. I’m great at planning, not always great on execution. Over the next couple of months I’m hoping to see my average heart rate continue to go down with the same distance and elevation change. If that happens, then I’ll start to step up the miles.

EA239AEF-5063-49D5-AB3C-7CB06C890CFE.png

If you’re a road runner, I’d encourage you to find some dirt to run on. It is quite a different experience. Have a good week everyone.

This is my entry for @jumowa’s #runforsteem weekly challenge.
https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@jumowa/weekly-run-for-steem-challenge-may-3rd-may-11th-and-payout-for-last-week

#thealliance

C487613A-1E3D-4024-9280-1837BADD4B58.gif
()

Sort:  

Did you miss your run. It's not too late... go and run!


Source for gif
Vote for your running author of the week 15!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Excellent path, I love single tracks. I had one in my home town 500 meters from my home, it runs around a lake, but the authorities planned to make there cycling path full of concrete.
Here in Belgium where I live is not so good, but I have nice forest 2 km from my place where I can run.
Great pictures.

Thanks. I hate to see cities put in concrete paths in parks. Even crushed stone would be better.

Love wild forest pictures. I notice every time I see one, I take deep breath. It's probably reminder how I breath deeply when I walk try the forest.

I’m glad you enjoyed my post!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

That looks really quaint and lonely. The right environment to switch off and indulge in his thoughts. Very nice.

Thanks. It is very therapeutic.

Very nice running trail! Hope your injury stays away now.

So far so good. Thanks.

Running in the woods is so pleasant. But Careful with the ankles. You have to stay focused on your race.

It does require constant focus.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64186.90
ETH 2759.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66