The "Half Marathon" that was 14.5 miles - #runforsteem #runningproject

in #runforsteem6 years ago

sketch-1525640471480.png
So today was half marathon day. I had originally planned to participate in the Frederick half marathon. However, considering I have moved really far away, I opted to run it in spirit. And, boy, did I!

I ended up running 14.5 miles. I had originally planned a relatively simple out and back course. However my GPS conveniently wasn't keeping up with its sync until I stopped mid run to fix it.

I got over 26,000 steps! Pretty sure that might be a record on this device.
20180506_155518.jpg

I've recently been stressed & kinda sick. Furthermore, it was much hotter here today than I anticipated. It was 66° but when running it feels 10° hotter.

I kept getting cramps that caused me to take several extended walk breaks. Normally in 3 hrs I could do 15-18 miles. Not today!!
sketch-1525640344299.png

Even though I am currently in a fair amount of pain, I am still glad I did this run. I'm disappointed my body and running equipment didn't work optimally but that's how it goes sometimes.

I'll be using this run to participate in @jumowa #runforsteem initiative. Here's his post with the rules:
https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@jumowa/weekly-run-for-steem-challenge-may-3rd-may-11th-and-payout-for-last-week

Well, I think I may've earned a nap! Take care everyone & thanks for visiting.
20180426_060759.jpg
^ Try my nutraceuticals hemp paste for chronic pain, inflammatory conditions, anxiety, depression, & more! 100% legal in all 50 states.
https://www.mynutra.com/join-dist-cart.php
Sponsor ID: 474795

Sort:  

Congratulations on your "more than" half marathon. It is always a fulfilling experience to have achieved such a milestone. Just when you have to bite your way through it, and you did.
Now regenerate well and feed on the successful experience.

Thanks a bunch!!

66 degrees sure does feel warm when you're running, especially when the humidity is high (such is the case where I live most of the time). It was above 70 when I finished both of my runs this week and I'm starting to see the effects of it--need to carry more water with me and drink more than if it was in the 40's or 50's which is my ideal temp.

Hope you enjoyed that nap today. I took about 15 minutes to lay down today as this weekend wore me out. Running was just a part of what made me so tired by the end of the weekend. Now it's time to get ready for the work week...yay (and by yay I really mean ugh)

I hear ya with the yay meaning ugh! Hope you have a good week ahead

Nice work, I'd love to say I knew you'd do it, but I was actually thinking earlier... there is no way Chelsea will run a half marathon after moving and everything.

You showed me, 💯 vote!

Haha! I showed ya. Lol. It was tough tho :)
Far from perfect conditions for many reasons. Oh well

Bravo for still doing it "virtually"...and then some! The heat does definitely start to get tough to run in. I am scaling back to shorter distances now that summer seems to be right around the corner. I think we bypassed spring!

Yeah i'm not doing any distance training for a while

Congratulations on your half marathon. Rest well from your efforts.

Congrats on stretching your run beyond your goals!

Looks like a pretty spot, along that river. :)

It was, i was too focused to take pictures. Next time though!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61800.05
ETH 2496.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64