#runforsteem 7 miles in on a 70 degree day! 😁

in #runforsteem6 years ago (edited)

20180215_190635.png
Today I will be logging this week's #runforsteem run as initiated by @jumowa. I'm really grateful for this initiative as running is a big part of my life and has been for quite some time so it's fun to talk about. It's been nice to connect with other Steemit runners as well.

Today I was nicely surprised by 70* degree weather here in Frederick, Maryland. As some of you may know, it has been cold here for a while which has been bothering my asthma. I stopped taking prescription drugs for my asthma about 8 years ago. I still keep an emergency albuterol or primatine inhaler "just in case" but, I can't even remember the last time I had to use it as I have learned breathing techniques to help namely forceful exhalation when I'm in a flareup.

Normally cold weather will irritate my asthma. So the warmth was nice. After about 1.5 miles, I had no asthma irritation whatsoever on a SEVEN mile run. Hurray! My pace held pretty steady at 9:35/ mile and completed my run in 67min 11sec.

If you're a runner, please check out @jumowa #runforsteem initiative here for all the rulez:
https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@jumowa/weekly-run-for-steem-challenge-feb-12th-feb-19th-and-payout-for-last-week

Thanks for visiting my post. Stay well & take advantage of your weather. Even if it's cold or crappy out, get out there even if for a short while.
chelsea88_blue.png
ecsheader1.jpg
20180120_074733.jpg

Sort:  

Good on you for getting out and about. Glad to hear the asthma is under control and you are managing it well.

I'm hoping to get out for a good run tomorrow, which I might just add to the #runforsteem.

I always feel I need to do a really good run to add it to something like that. A normal run just isn't good enough if I'm going to get paid for it.

So it makes for a good motivator to push a little harder ;-)

Well done you!

Thanks & I agree! This was my 3rd run this week and though I do plan to run again Saturday, it will be shorter, more of a "normal" run & I have heard we could expect SNOW again by Sunday. the cold and/or rapid change in temps always gets to the ole asthma. Well thx for the comment & I'll check in with you soon! =)

I’m sure you appreciate the 70 degree February days more than I do... especially since LA moved to the Southwrn hemisphere. 😉

I’ve been reading a lot on ketosis lately and they say it can be used to cure asthma. There’s a long list of what they say it will cure as its pretty much anything related to inflammation (which asthma is). If it sounds crazy, I understand. There’s a reason the keto world remains underground.

Interesting. I've not tried that but have tried Many alternative therapies for my asthma. I'll look into it! Thx for the tip :)

It's so great when the weather starts to improve and you can just get on with running. Great to hear you're able to run despite asthma and control it without the standard drugs. Amazing!

Thanks! Yes it is definitely a blessing to not require the standard meds

I am happy for you that you are running in a weather like that! Here is pretty cold and icy and I wish the spring would be here already ;) Also great to read how you manage asthma. Onwards and upwards!

Absolutely! Thank you. I hope you can get some better weather soon!

Thanks! Until then I will make origami flowers ;)

A fairly decent alternative :)

That sounds like prefer running weather. Got go out and enjoy it before its pure death from heat and humidity outside! I wish it always stayed in the upper 70’s to lower 80’s. That has to be my perfect zone.

Same! I don't remember ever having asthma even in extreme heat even though I have suffered other heat related ailments. Have to be careful in all temps I suppose. Though the upper 70s and low 80s are darn near perfect.

I was thankful to grow out of my asthma when I had it. I hope it warms up soon enough you get to enjoy the weather and easier breathing!

I hated the inhaler to the point they had to get me one of those machines with the mask and you had sit there for like 10 minutes.

Every type of asthma med they tried me on gave me adverse symptoms. What always was strange to me is on most of those meds one of the side effects was "increased risk of death from asthma"....like seriously?

Most drugs have such a high laundry list of side efforts you wonder who want would take it. The scary thing is some of them are very powerful drugs but their main purpose might been only for a small group and thus they never recover their money. So they do further research and realize oh hey it cures this other thing as well.

A while back I seen something for “dry mouth” which I felt was kind of strange someone would want take a med for that after all the things it could do including “death.” It was clear the med was never made to cure dry mouth it’s just what paid to cover massive costs to create it.

That is a great point. Many drugs have "off label" uses that have like nothing to do with the purpose of the drug

I am so proud of you. You are so dedicated!

Thanks I try!!

👍🏻 I guess you must enjoy it too! I never liked running, but I do enjoy walking!

I am that crazy running person with stickers on my car and everything. Lol

Then I'll know your car when I see it. LOL!

😁 sounds like a fun idea for a future post haha

Running allows me to set my mind free. Nothing seems impossible, nothing unattainable.
-Kara Goucher

Resteemed by @runningproject

Who would have thought it would be so warm in February! It figures that as soon as I get out of Maryland, the temps get warm.

Right!? Weird. Today it's still warm but raining. I went to work in short sleeves, no jacket. Someone told me we are due for snow Sunday! I find it hard to believe but you never know around here. Lol

I fly back to MD Sunday night so hopefully the snow forecast is wrong!

Well it had dropped ten degrees between start and finish of work. Crazy

Nice post @chelsea88!!! I just returned from the warm sunshine of Florida, and it's nice that NJ is also unseasonably warm as of late.

That must have been nice. :)
Yeah, I'm sure we are due for another cold spell at some point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49