"My Favorite Color is the Rainbow" Runaway Rhymes Entry

in #runawayrhymes8 years ago

This is my entry in @hopehuggs Runaway Rhymes Poetry Contest.  Since the theme is "Rainbow", I couldn't resist.


People ask my favorite color, “Why?”, I wonder, do they want to know? 

I always have to tell them, it isn’t just one, but the entire rainbow!   


I simply can’t just select only one 

If I chose only red, I’d be mad, and not fun.   


If orange was my favorite I’d simply forget  

All the other emotions, and feel nagging regret.   


Yellow is bright and cheerful, it’s true, 

But, being continually upbeat, I’d get over-worked and catch the flu!   


Green is always greener when someone else is choosing 

But envy is a stroke of luck that sometimes leads to losing.   


I cannot paint with only hues of blue, 

For you’d be sad, and that simply wouldn’t do.   


I’m reserving purple till I’m older, and wearing a red hat, 

But if I really had to pick just one, I’d probably pick that.   


However pink is in the running,  

Since we all know pink is purple’s kissing cousin.   


This leads me back to having to pick just one, 

Which, for me, is easier said than done.  


Sort:  

Beautiful poetry, the poem is very beautiful congratulations dear friend @pyrowngs

Even though I really enjoyed all the other entries, this is my favorite so far. I really like it. Great poem.

Glad you like it!

Really imaginative and I would have to agree my favourite colour is rainbow. Thank you so much for a great entry.

Thanks for this fun project!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76