Who asked for it?: All Growed Up!

in #rugrats6 years ago (edited)

Who asked for this?!?


In parliament, Nigel Farage asked Herman Van Rompuy the question I will never forget: "Who voted for you?".

That very inquiry is what comes to mind when I think back on the bastard child of my favorite series as a kid known as "All Growed Up!". I mean c'mon Rugrats left a nice taste in my mouth. The shenanigans that the babies got into and mishaps they encountered from their utter lack of understanding of a world that's still new to them was comical. I had closure and Nickelodeon decided to open it back up. Was it at least better than the original? Naw, not really...

The happenings in Rugrats gave me as a young person (at the time) context of my childhood relative to adults without taking that childhood away from me. That was the best part. Then Nick turned them into teenagers and gave them 1st world teenage problems. That was the worst part.

Let dead dogs lie


Why revamp it? Can you say money grab? No one that I knew wanted (or asked) for this pave-over that leaves the franchise on a bad note. They answered questions that I didn't want the answer to such as who winds up dating who. How they age. What kinds of people they develop into.

These are all things that I wanted to be left to my imagination. Perhaps this is the very same reason that people hated the Star Wars Prequels. The whole point of not knowing is that you get to fill in the blanks with your imagination which is 90% of the time is much better than any prequel or sequel you can cram onto the big screen.

Just end it.


Of course, there's no point in complaining. Anywhere a dime can be found you'll find a double-dipper. And don't get me wrong I don't have a vendetta on all sequels, revamps, rehashes, remixes, etc. however some chips should never be double dipped and I think Rugrats was one of them.

Sort:  

Congratulations @justinthedev! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @justinthedev! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54