ROUTE 66 by bicycle. California

in #route667 years ago (edited)

liz75,route 66 santa monica 093.JPGA couple of years ago I decided to cycle the entire length of the "Mother Road". I stopped at every town along the way and took a picture of the city limit sign. Ending up being approximately 370 towns. A few small towns had no sign so I had to improvise. Taking city limit pictures was a good excuse for getting off my Surly long haul trucker to rest and soak in the town a little bit. I also took pictures of old signs, gas pumps and folk art. I started at the pier in Santa Monica and ended 6 weeks later in Chicago. I rode about 2400 miles total. There are two shoe trees on Route 66. One in Amboy and the other in Oklahoma. I hung shoes on both!start.JPGa9.JPGa10.JPGab.JPGbarstow 010.JPGbarstow 013.JPGbarstow 017.JPGbarstow 039.JPGbono's.JPGrt66 018.JPGa32.JPGa26b.JPGa24.JPGrt66 003.JPGshoe tree (2).JPGa29.JPG

Sort:  

This quite the impressive ride!!!! I am sure you could write a small book about all of your trail magic, wild and crazy adventures of that trip.
My husband is out riding a 400 mile adventure for the next week in Kansas of all places.
We are both bike fans. He has been riding a lifetime, previously worked/painted for Davidson. I am fairly new to the riding scene, I have a couple of posts up with my fat bike.
Happy to find another fellow biker :) Looking forward to hearing more of your biking adventures.
ps I rode the Route 66 in my convertible 1969 GTO about 8 years ago.

I see your husband has a surly bike. Love it!

I love the photo of the bottles in Barstow also the one with the shoes. Im suprised you found room to put your shoe up there!

Congratulations @mybikenamedsurly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @mybikenamedsurly! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69115.56
ETH 3736.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66