Vanishing Footsteps - How Will You Leave Your Mark?

in #rolemodel6 years ago (edited)

Over the last few mornings, I have noticed that I was leaving a mark behind as I exited the shower. I was leaving behind a footprint. These footprints are meaningful. They have the potential to build up or destroy.

foot.JPG

Thoughts About Making A Mark

The following are some of my reflections about making a mark.

1. Marks are easy to make.


Almost anything we do in life causes a ripple. But how big will that ripple be? And what kind of impact will that ripple cause?

We need to be thoughtful as we walk through life. We need to be considerate about the words we speak. We need to choose wisely how we invest in others.

A harsh word, a missed opportunity to give a hug, and failing to look up from your device - each of these seemingly insignificant activities are marks easily left behind in the lives of others.

As we walk this journey of life, we need to be careful where we tread. We need to be careful how we act because it is easy to leave a mark - both good and bad.

2. Today's mark may not be seen/remembered tomorrow.

The mark I have been leaving behind each morning after showering quickly fades. What happens today is not guaranteed to be seen tomorrow. There are monumental moments that indeed change the trajectory of life, but there are a lot of events that happen in the daily grind that are​ forgotten by the next day.

We do not labor to be seen. We labor to make small incremental changes. We don't just leave our mark for the glory. We leave our make to impact change in the lives of others.

3. We leave a mark so that others can follow.

Leaders leave behind trails, footprint, markers. They blaze trails so that others can follow. The mark you are leaving behind is an invitation for other people to follow you.

So make sure you are leading well. You don't have to walk an easy path, but you must be sure that you are walking the right path.

Sometimes​ we act like we are living in isolation, but trust me, there are eyes watching us. There are people who are looking to us as their examples. They are watching what we do and where we go, and they are preparing themselves to follow in our footsteps.

I want to hear from you.

  1. Do you prefer to lead or follow?
  2. What kind of ripples (marks) are you leaving behind?
  3. Are you leaving behind a legacy that you are proud of?

Thanks for stopping by! I look forward to continuing this conversation in the comment section.

@SumatraNate


Image Source: I took this photo with my iPhone.


More About My Steem Projects

image source: bitmoji app Like This Post?
Upvote, Comment, Resteem
Want More Like It?
Follow My Steem Blog!
Learn how to format your Steem posts so that your great content looks great!
image source: pixabay Wanna Join The Best Birthday Party On The Steem Blockchain? Click here for more details!
Sort:  

Do you prefer to lead or follow?

I want to lead, but so often I find myself following! If I'm following Yeshua, then we will be fine. If I'm following myself, we're in big trouble.

What kind of ripples (marks) are you leaving behind?

Everytime I hug my children, or tell my youngest to come here, or pray with them, huge ripples into their future are happening, even if I don't see it immediately. Being home and interacting with them causes the biggest ripples.

Are you leaving behind a legacy that you are proud of?

Being proud of a legacy is not something that's really on my radar. Making the best choices I can at the time is my immediate goal.

Thanks for your thoughtful comments. I am encouraged to hear from other dads who are leading their family in the Way. Keeping making ripples. Keep making the best choices in the moment.

I sometimes lead but in a quiet way, always trying to bring out the best in people. Other times I follow and learn from others, but it is vital that our footprints leave behind good marks!

I think that quiet leadership can also be powerful. And I agree that we need to leave behind footprints that lead people on a good path.

Thanks for stopping by!

Forgot to say I loved your post @sumatranate!

Because your feet are wet. Because of which you leave behind your target.

Because your feet are
Wet. Because of which you leave
Behind your target.

                 - ahlawat


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sumatranate from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 245 (9/02/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59374.25
ETH 2544.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47