A role model Steemian - the power to move ideas and generate action

I'm doing this entry the last minute, since I just saw about it now. I have approximately 1 hour to complete the write-up, but I'm not letting the opportunity of becoming one step closer to my vision here in Steemit. I'll be starting off with an assessment of my self -- of whether I would qualify to be called a "good" Steemian.

Role Model Steemian.png

By the way, this contest is hosted by @anomadsoul and the link to the contest post is found here.

Self-assessment of my qualities as a Steemian - am I good enough?

A role model has several definitions, but @anomadsoul cited among others, some characteristics of a good Steemian:

Powering up for the better

Is not permanently Powering down - nothing wrong with powering down a few weeks if you need money, but permanently powering down means you don´t trust the platform and are not very committed to Steemit.

I have ambitious goals here in Steemit, and I plan to accumulate 1,500 SP by the end of 2018. This might be a small goal for others, but I observed that this is good enough to create movement. From the beginning, I use all the rewards to build up my SP. I'm very much thinking long term, and I am really planning to have bigger voice in the community -- a voice that I can utilize to bring fruition to some of visions and ambitions in life.

Idea weaver and content creator

Posts original and quality content - quality is subjective, but we all have a certain standard.

So far, all the posts I've shared here in Steemit are originally crafted for the exclusive consumption of the community. There are excerpts or photos that I use from my existing blogs, but I make sure I deliver a different perspective. I fully understand the need of this community to always generate "value". As suggested by many Steemians, I am focusing my efforts in joining communities and contests (with frequent posts on some Steemit tips for my friends [who recently joined] to read),but I have a lot of ideas in mind that I'll be sharing in the months to come.

Personal resources

Cites sources whenever part of the content does not belong to her/him.

Most (if not all) of the photos I used here in Steemit came from my personal library. I enjoy taking photos of restaurants and travel destinations I go to. It just feels great sharing them via my posts. I also want to develop more creativity which is why I try to innovate photos that I embed in my posts.

The passion to connect

Tries to reply to the comments on his/her posts
Comments on other people´s posts and gives some feedback to the author.

I really want to connect with people, and get to know their insights. Unfortunately, I rarely get comments on my posts. Hence, right now, what I do is I just comment on other people's posts. I also share my insights about the topics I'm very much inclined to.

Doing the right thing

Does not selfvote more than once a day.

I have to be honest. I still vote on my posts, but when it comes to voting my own comments, I already ditched the idea ever since I learned that it's commonly frowned upon to self-vote on your own comments.

Smart usage of tools

Does not use bidbots to get votes - nothing wrong to use them once in a while to boost a good post or to promote an initiative or project, but come on, not on every post.

Honestly impels me to share that I do use bots to promote my posts sometimes, but I just do this for the posts which I've really put effort and energy to. However, I realized that nothing beats the fulfillment you'll receive when all the upvotes come from genuine readers. Hence, I am slowly veering away from the usage of the bidbots.

Curation

Spreads his/her votes as wide as he/she can within their SP possibilities.

I'm trying to spread my votes on topics I want to support. Also, some of my VPs are spent on my friends as encouragement for them to continue sharing their ideas, craft and passion here in Steemit.

PAL + Steem Philippines

Hangs out in some chat channels regularly.

Whenever I have free time, I always drop by the PAL discord channel. That's where I get some ideas with my posts sometimes. Also, I've met Steemians there which really helped me out in knowing the beauty of the community. Shout out to @juliakponsford, @dearjoyce and etc.

The witnesses

Approves at least 10 witnesses (30 would be better but well).

I am slowly learning more about Steemians who are really looking at the welfare of the entire community. I currently have no more than 10, which is why for now, I assigned @steemgigs as a proxy. My vision is similar with his, so I know that my witness votes are in good hands.

Hopefully, with my responses above, you would consider me qualified to be labeled as "good". I am providing assurance that whatever delegation will be given, I will put more responsibility to it.

The Power of 500

Make a post about what you are doing for Steemit, for your community and for everyone else. Tell me how you spend your voting power. If you have a project(s) shout about them in your post. Let me know what you blog about and why you write about that. Share with me how would you use the SP I will be delegating to you if you win this contest. Whatever you think is worth mentioning, do it, it doesn´t matter if you think is small.

It took me days to fully appreciate Steemit, but as soon as I discovered its potential I became a believer of the community. I just now that it can unleash the deepest talent, skills and gifts we have in us.

I can still remember the excitement I felt in joining contests that awaken my sleeping passion on art and music. Then, I imagined a scenario wherein more people are driven by their passion. From then, I started admiring what the community is capable of producing.

If I'll be given extra SP, I will use it to support talents, but I'm looking at talents, hobbies or interests that are still untapped as of the moment. I'll also be supporting crazy ideas -- the crazier the better as long as they are producing value for the community.

I'll also be allocating more time to find posts that are worthy of being curated. I want the right people to be consistently motivated, and with how Steemit is designed, an upvote will be able to do it.

Also, my group of friends and I recently started a channel called @trulaloo -- which we envision to generate value by providing quality entertainment and humor. I started finding and reaching out to communities that will support production of these type of content. However, there weren't much. In fact, I didn't find any as of the moment. (Maybe I didn't search enough). Most of the groups support art, literature and music, which of course I am very happy about since those are also within my passions. However, I just think that it will be nice if we can start supporting content-creators that are currently not within the Steemit-radar.

Anyway, my time is up! I want to share more things but I need to hit the post button.

Thank you very much for reading!


If you found this post somehow helpful or inspiring, I would highly appreciate the upvote, resteem and/or comment. For updates and stories about travel, food, art and etc. you may want to follow me at @anotsopopularkid. Hope to connect with you!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by anotsopopularkid from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @anotsopopularkid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow
I love this

I also have dreams that align with your thoughts - wrote about them in a post but not with the skill and clarity you display above.

You can check out the post here: https://steemit.com/fbm/@iamthegray/my-steemit-impact-stimulating-and-rewarding-quality-content

Once again; great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57676.72
ETH 2356.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39