You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - A Hidden Gem

in #rockhound6 years ago

I can't say I fully understand what would cause that. I want to guess that this would have happened during the hardening process, millions of years ago. It almost seems like an earthquake was taking place as this rock hardened, causing the minerals to slush around and now look like paint strokes. This is just a guess though! It can't be too thick, which makes the opaqueness even more interesting!

Sort:  

I have been doing a little searching about it and wonder if it is some kind of jasper? I actually do not know the difference between an agate and a jasper.
http://www.samsilverhawk.com/2010gemstones/1114cabs/stonecyn.html
The reason I'm interested in this stuff is because I paint so pigments and sources really fascinate me.

Sorry for the late response! I find it interesting that you found a jasper that looks like this one. I just don't think those particular jaspers are found here. The jasper's I find have more of a red/purple tint to them. Agates have those tiny bands (lines) of different colors. That's how you can usually tell it's an agate. Other rocks/minerals can become "agatized", such as coral.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58522.52
ETH 2540.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50