You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lake Superior Rocks & Gems - A Hidden Gem

in #rockhound6 years ago

I have been doing a little searching about it and wonder if it is some kind of jasper? I actually do not know the difference between an agate and a jasper.
http://www.samsilverhawk.com/2010gemstones/1114cabs/stonecyn.html
The reason I'm interested in this stuff is because I paint so pigments and sources really fascinate me.

Sort:  

Sorry for the late response! I find it interesting that you found a jasper that looks like this one. I just don't think those particular jaspers are found here. The jasper's I find have more of a red/purple tint to them. Agates have those tiny bands (lines) of different colors. That's how you can usually tell it's an agate. Other rocks/minerals can become "agatized", such as coral.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47