You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where have all the rockers gone? We found some!

in #rock6 years ago

Oooh I am so jealous! Melissa Etheridge is probably the only female singer I've really gotten into over the years, but I only really enjoyed her first album. Boy did those songs kick! :D

So glad she is still going strong, cause I remember her having a cancer scare some years back.

As for the rock - I think it has all morphed into those gazillion sub-genres which are entirely confusing these days.

Sort:  

Yes, the first album was the best and she did a few from that. I like Brave and Crazy a lot as well though.

Both of them have actually been through breast cancer.

Out of those gazillion sub-genres, are any of them what those of us who were rock chicks in the 80s (and thereabouts) would call rock though?

Rock, I'm not sure any more. I was still into the pop stuff in the 80s - hadn't yet discovered the wonders of rock (although I've always loved rock'n'roll) - or maybe I could class it as 'soft rock'? :P

Maybe what I think sounds like rock wiki would classify differently. I like some of the indie-rock, but I miss classics (to me) like Cold Chisel. :D

Interesting. After reading @conradt's post on shock rock, and seeing yours and @sift666's comments here, it's apparent that everybody has a different definition of what rock is. To me, it's not rock if you can't head bang to it - for wont of a better definition. Cold Chisel, yes, I think I'd call them soft rock, but soft rock is still rock. Heavy metal, to me, is at the far end of rock, but once it's too heavy it's something else. And Electronica (like Prodigy, see my reply to sift) is not rock at all. That's very roughly how I see it tonight anyway. Tomorrow I may change my mind.

Ah. See now to me it is the heavy metal you bang your head to. :D

Ah but heavy metal, you can ONLY bang your head to, you can't do anything else. I've been refining my thoughts by sift playing things and asking how I'd categorise them. His criteria are very different. Maybe I'll do another post...

It is a great discussion. :)

I just got frustrated trying to find a list of contemporary rock bands but even wiki let me down. Looks like it is about the sub-genres now. And bands can be in more than one which makes it even harder to define them. Especially when they themselves don't want to be shoved into a neat box.

My kind of rock band right now would be Green Day or Shinedown or Fall Out Boy or Linkin Park or even Imagine Dragons - but whether they class themselves as rock or something else...?

I'll have a listen tomorrow and see whether I classify them as rock! We've just been going through a pile more stuff listening and deciding...

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50