My Year Long Project of Making a Robot

in #robotics8 years ago

Long time no see, STEEMIT!

After a great summer break finally comes the time for a new post!

Other than travelling I enjoy my studies. I have a bachelor degree in robotics and just started my masters two weeks ago. I have a plan to get most of my thesis done over the next year. The first thing to start with is to put together a robot that I have designed for my bachelor paper. Right now I have project on paper which I want to assemble into a working model or even a real robot. Unfortunately, I have no experience in putting electronics and mechanical parts together but I still want to do it and see what it turns in to. This experience sure will be a lot of fun, and I hope to end up with a remote in my hand to control this little piece of technology!

Let's get closer to the project...

It will consist of putting together a remote controlled undercarriage platform with Zippermast mechanism inside of it to rise a video camera up to three meters and programming the whole thing to work wirelessly as far as I can get it (approximately 200 - 300 m).

As I have already told, I have done a research. So far I have made some drawings and calculations of motors and batteries. Also, I have chosen motors, Zippermast system, video camera and batteries.

This is a 3D model of my robot with camera lowered

and risen and turned.

The robot should be as small as possible. Here it is 600 mm in length, 500 mm in width, 400 mm in height with lowered camera. Moreover, there are 4 camera modules on each side of the platform for a better view during the travel process. Calculated speed of this model is 2.4 mps. Its mass is about 30 kg.

Of course, I'm a little scared of starting this project because it sounds like a lot of work and knowledge but I'm very excieted to see what I end up with and all the experience I will gain! So, now you know what my plan is. Wish me luck and ask questions ;)

Sort:  

WoW that sounds like a really cool project! I'm sure in the end it will be worth all the work that goes towards it!

This could be used for videos where people walk towards the camera and talk, in sort of opening scenes etc. Like the ones they probably have in movies just automated instead and a cheaper version of it, could even become popular among indie movies.

Good luck on the project! Followed your account for future updates :)

Thank you! Haven't thought of using it in movies. It's an awesome idea!!!

I want to add to this robot some fire gun or napalm, anyway looks like spy robot ;)

You're right, it can be used in spying but I hope this kind of robots will be used in a peaceful way

COOL ROBOT THING! CAN IT FIGHT IN ROBO-WARS? SORRY THE ROBOT STOLE MY CAPS LOCK KEY!

Thank you! It doesn't have any extra devices for wars but it sure can take your selfie for you ;)

So cool you shared it here :) Keep going!

Congratulations @vell! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Following you! I give you a vote!

Congratulations @vell! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68