Road to Steemfest #8: Three Truths, One Lie!

in #roadtosteemfest5 years ago (edited)

So the task at hand is to tell you four things about myself where one of them is not true. I think this will be a fun little writing assignment; now lets see if you can figure out which one is a lie!

1: I left the United States Sixteen years ago at the young age of twenty to become a travel blogger. I was very excited about seeing the world when I was a child as I had many people in my family that were avid travelers. This is what has inspired me to see the world and I have not stopped traveling ever since I left.

2: I consider myself a budget traveler. I live on 1,000 dollars a month on average and enjoy showing people that with the right skills they can live very well on this amount of money all over the planet. The key to traveling on a budget is finding good value not the cheapest places to stay, food to eat, and so on.

3: I never finished college! I simply thought I was too cool for school! lol I've believed in my own entrepreneur skills and have not answered to a boss since I left the United States when I was twenty. I haven't worked any sort of real job in over a decade!

4: I like to travel slow. I enjoy staying in one place for a minimum of a week and an absolute maximum of three months. I never plan too far ahead, and I always try to stay as flexible as I can. Living out of backpack has made all my dreams come true!

So which one is nonsense! Feel free to take a guess and leave a comment below. Better yet find me at the party in Bangkok and lets hangout and you can tell me then. Looking forward to seeing you at Steemfest Four!

With over 16 years of travel experience I answer travel and international lifestyle questions. Leave a question in the comments and I may make a Steemit post just for you!

This blog would not be possible without the support of.....

@ ... dtube lukestokes slowalker sandra flipstar gooddream teamsteem magicmonk nomadicsoul joythewanderer tombstone eturnerx jpphotography backscrathcer gtg gavvet qurator yankee-statman mammasita sultan-aceh luzcypher phortun ivansnz karenmckersie travelfeed steemitworldmap world5list chefsteve offoodandart hedge-x intrepidsurfer gillianpearce makeithappen justyy newhope tombstone ripperone mangos ausbitbank alexis555 redes jedau doitvoluntarily theywillkillyou heyitshaas margaretwise gregbit fitinfun bxlphabet lizanomadsoul

THANK YOU

I support these people for witness and you can too!

themarkymark lukestokes.mhth qurator pfunk jutsyy mahdiyari gtg timcliff roelandp good-karma blocktrades ausbitbank aggroed kevinwong pharesim

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

FREE $40 of Airbnb Credit to New Users!

Check Out My Free E-Book Published on Steemit!

How to Live Travel Pro! An In-depth Guide on How to Budget Travel Around the World.

Sort:  

I don't know. This is a tough one because they all sound like you!
Number 1 had me in doubt, because I believe that you did leave the US 16 years ago, however, I don't think you had people in your family who were avid travelers, so this might just partly be bullshit.
I think you've told me about the slow travel and that you like to stay for a week up to 3 months at the most, so that one is out.
Budget travel...yup, that's true too.
So if I would have to give it a good guess it would be that either you DID finish college (but you ARE too cool for school). But I still think that you are giving us a half-truth when you say that you had many people in your family who traveled... Just not 100% sure which one it is.
OK, now after the guessing, it's time to write mine...

Yep, your hunch was right! It's the first one. Nobody in my family travel, and I left for Korea to start a business, not to "see the world". The travel blogging part didn't happen until I joined steemit a couple years ago. I'll look for your post now.

Cool! I knew I heard this about your family. Now, I did know you went to Korea, but quite curious about what kind of business you were starting. Did you ever do that? Or did the travel fever take over?

You quite the good listener yourself! :)

I got into the English Teaching Business there, and that got me in the position to see more of Asia then live traveling.

Ah yes! I think I remember something like that either from what you told me or your posts somewhere. Yes, life works in mysterious ways LOL (I often replace the word 'god' by other words like life and earth or something).
By the way: I just booked our plane tickets!!! Whoop Whoop!!!
We'll be arriving on the 5th of November and leaving (unfortunately) on the 21st. Only 16 days, but better that than nothing at all!!! And I am quite sure that once I got the taste again that we'll be back in no time :)

Can't wait!!!

Indeed, God, life, earth, source, the supreme being... what ever you call it it certainly does work in mysterious ways for sure!

So glad to know that you have your ticket, do you know where in Thialand you'll be going after steemfest?

Me I'm probably heading to Koh Phagnan, my favorite island. I'll be there for about a month.

Looking forward to seeing you, and it's getting to be soon too!

Have a great day!

1 must be the lie, I remember reading an old post from you, you left for travelling and then became an entrepreneur, but only started travel blogging on Steem, right? Greetings from Bangkok, see you here at Steemfest next month!

Yep, you know me quite well! It's going to be great seeing you in Thailand. Really looking forward to hanging out with you and the travel feed crew!

3rd is a lie. You finished a college!

Nice guess Mo! But it's number one. I never finished college!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73