The Road to Steemfest: 3 Truths and 1 Lie

in #roadtosteemfest5 years ago

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgn7gfqyxQHv2vv5ZY.jpeg

photo from @anomadsoul's post

Three truths and one lie is a fun icebreaker and a cool way to get to know fellow Steemians that we will meet in Steemfest. I find it difficult to find something interesting about me but here goes:

1) I am working in the Human Resources department of a bank

I currently work as a Human Resources staff servicing Sydney employee remotely from the Makati office. I could not say more about this job because of data privacy policies that I am under with this company.

2) I have just finished my masters degree in Industrial/ Organizational Psychology

It took me so long to finish my masters degree as my full time work was always a priority. I always had to take a leave of absence from school because we always have some kind of peak season at work. When I was about to do my thesis, my employer agreed that they will be my subject company and after I have worked on my proposal paper and passed the proposal defense, they just backed out! I had to wait another 2 years to get another company to be my subject because the data that I will use is very sensitive and the profile for my topic would usually have strict data privacy policy. Just this year, a company agreed that I can do my data gathering there. A few months ago, I just finished my paper and have just officially graduated

3) I am super vain on my skin and have done a lot of dermatological procedures to improve my skin and not have acne (and a way to fight depression). As a result, I can't always be under the sun.

I suffered from acne when I was younger which left me with ugly acne scars. I have always been insecure of this and a lot of people like my cousins and peers would call me names. I did every derma procedure I can get access to when I started to earn my money just to improve these scars. I did dermabrasion, PRP (platelet rich plasma) with derma stomping, chemical peels to name a few of these painful procedures.

If I were to choose between a million dollars and smoother skin, I would choose smoother skin because I will just spend those millions to have a normal skin and a normal life where people will not look at me and have their opinion about my face. Sadly, I live in a superficial place where white and glass skin is the standard.

4) I do not know how to swim BUT I freedive

Did you know that a lot of Filipinos do not know how to swim? This is so ironic on an island nation. However, there is a valid reason to this. Growing up, most schools did not offer swimming classes and you have to be rich to afford to take swimming classes and have access to a pool during the summer season. I grew up far from the beach as well.

As an adult, it was difficult to learn this skill but I got the chance to learn to freedive. I am able to stay afloat in the middle of the sea because of super long fins. And you have to go down in freediving so I did not need the swimming skills to be able to do this.

Can you guess which one is the lie?

Cheers,
wandeREIN (formerly @wanderlass)

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @wanderein! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 200 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

@wanderein doesn't know how to lie.😋😊

Definitely number 1.

It would be nice to meet you at steem fest 4 this year🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

🤣🤣🤣 See you in SF. It would have been true if I only wrote it in past tense

Lol. Yup😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74