Road to Steemfest - What do I expect in Kraków?

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago

See the picture? I assume it is going to be something like that.

No, I actually don't really have expectations about the place but I feel it is going to look pretty familiar as most cities in the area tend to have a lot of similarities. However, I am really more open to winging this one, like I do for nearly all of my travels. Essentially, unless going somewhere obviously dangerous, what planning really needs to be done? I prefer to go into a new place with an open mind and no hard and fast plans.

The only thing that I am keen on doing that requires some planning is going to Auschwitz if I can make it. My wife and I toured the Anne Frank house some years back and it was a sobering experience. I think it might be my only chance to go for a long time and, I think grey November weather might be the best time to absorb it all.

One thing I do expect though is that my camera will be with me most of the time.

But for Steemfest itself?

Not being very technical at the core, I am planning on cornering nerds to teach me blockchain basics... No, I am planning to socialize and get to know some of the very cool people I will be spending some time with. @anomadsoul, @abh12345, @celestal, @eveuncovered, @guyfawkes4-20, @honeydue, @howo, @fredrikaa and whoever else I might meet along the way.

It has been a while since I have been surrounded by people I don't really know and I am wondering if I still have social skills or, I truly have become a Steemian. Perhaps I will only end up saying things like "nice handshake", "lovely clothes dear" and of course, "Great hair @ned! upvoted and resteemed."

I am really hoping to be able to build some decent connections though, not in the networking sense but I think that getting to know Steem people in the walking world helps to make all of this more real in some way. I also think that seeing people face to face increases the possibility of forming stronger bonds within the community and perhaps, some future collaborations and projects. I am pretty sure that there is going to be a mass of ideas flying around and, I would like to get into the fray.

The other thing

I am also expecting a lot of calls from my wife and daughter. I have never really spent any time away from them and the last time I think I was away from my wife was 5 or 6 years ago on a business trip. I am wondering how our daughter is going to react with it all and, what she is going to say when I return home again. Probably, she won't even notice I had been gone.

An open mind

I am trying to keep an open mind to it all and I am actually hoping that rather than being left solo, I will meet some decent people to hang out with in the downtime and also be interested in getting to know more of the business/tech sides of things too. I feel that it will be a very good opportunity to see how well I actually fit in with various crowds and may look to be a bit of a social butterfly during the days.

As they say though, hope for the best, plan for the worst and I expect that the worst case scenario is that I make an absolute sham of it all and end up an outcast posting videos of me Deejay-ing shirtless.

Let's hope it doesn't come to that for all of our sakes.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

It has been a while since I have been surrounded by people I don't really know and I am wondering if I still have social skills or, I truly have become a Steemian. Perhaps I will only end up saying things like "nice handshake", "lovely clothes dear" and of course, "Great hair @ned! upvoted and resteemed."

I'm not used to your posts being a choking hazard so this one very nearly got me XD

Unless you write a lot better than you talk (which I consider highly unlikely given your day job) I can't see you making any sham out of anything. Unless you managed to get off your scone on something, in which case I suppose there's a possibility.

I'm not used to your posts being a choking hazard so this one very nearly got me XD

lol. I should be a little less serious perhaps sometimes :)

Unless you managed to get off your scone on something, in which case I suppose there's a possibility.

@anomadsoul @abh12345 ??

Like the worm as the bottom of the tequila bottle? I'm not having that!

I will do the worm, you can drink down to it :D

I would then not see/remember the effects of the worm! (and likely be in hospital requiring a stomach pump!)

Totally. And that casual interjection delivery is perfect XD

That looks like a picture of me driving off with all of my crypto profits into the wonderful sunset.

Seriously though, I bet you will have a lot of fun. I've always wanted to visit Poland. I look forward to hearing about it.

I look forward to hearing about it.

What happens in Poland stays in Poland... I actually wonder what happens to my posting schedule there :D

Hi @tarazkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.101 which ranks you at #256 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 266 contributions, your post is ranked at #10.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You're going in with a great attitude and I'm blessed to be able to go. Yes I'm sure you'll take pictures and notes all that. I'm sure your family will miss you. But only the pain of separation can produce the growth from the opportunity

I actually think my daughter will notice immediately but will be okay with it. When I come back however, she might be very quiet.

Hi Taraz. More alike than I thought lol. Auschwitz was on my mind when they said Poland. There are a few places like that on my bucket list and will one day get to them even if I am carrying a bucket with me .

I am glad that they have preserved some of the history at least because , no one should ever forget. I feel that if people actually looked into the past a little, they would rethink their future directions.

It has been a while since I have been surrounded by people I don't really know and I am wondering if I still have social skills or, I truly have become a Steemian. Perhaps I will only end up saying things like "nice handshake", "lovely clothes dear" and of course, "Great hair @ned! upvoted and resteemed."

LOL

I'll be bringing mrs slobberchops with me. Now your wondering if she looks anything like me aren't you?

'Mrs. Slobberchops' sounds like an interesting kind of movie ;)

Great post, dear! Can't wait to hang with you too!
I upvoted and resteemed. Please do the same now, mister Taraz sir.
Thank you and God bless.
Dear.

Wish I could go.... maybe next year in the Bahamas

Posted using Partiko iOS

The Bahamas sounds a lot more my style than Poland but, anywhere new is an experience :)

Any place that is warm in November would be better

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well, I am heading down from Finland so Poland will seem balmy.

That’s true... I am in Canada so anyplace is warmer ...

Posted using Partiko iOS

You'd better get your buff on in case that worse case scenario happens.

I recommend a hardcore diet of nothing but push ups, chin ups and egg whites until November.

Posted using Partiko Android

You'd better get your buff on in case that worse case scenario happens.

I had but deleted, ' I better hit the gym just in case' because, making a meal of it is likely :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46