A rambling road to SteemFest3 - Part 2

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago

This write here is my second post under the #roadtosteemfest tag, an initiative run by the man all women want and all men want to be, @anomadsoul to help those with firm SteemFest3 plans get to know each other a little before arriving in Warsaw.

It is funny, I don't mind talking about my ideas and thoughts but, I don't really like talking about myself so much. When I write though, I do have a strong tendency to write from experience and heavily through my own observations which means I have to include myself in there somewhere.

This seems to also go with the number of photos of me as I am normally behind the camera observing but, sometimes I have to ask my wife to take a photo or two so it looks like my daughter doesn't have an absent father. Not that I mind not being in photos.

I am still 90% sure I will make it to SteemFest3 and as I mentioned last time, this is mainly due to my family situation. They will always come first so if they need me, it will go from 90% to 0 very fast. I hope that doesn't happen though so, it better be a bloody good reason if it does.

I was saying to someone the other day that when it comes to my writing on Steem, I have painted myself into a fairly serious corner where I don't have much humour but, I am actually pretty laid back and relaxed for the most part, especially when it comes to social situations. Perhaps too much so at times as I have the tendency to tease people a bit, no matter who they are as I am not much of a fanboy and tend to treat people relatively the same, no matter their social status or job title. Unemployed, CEO or Prime Minister, they are all pretty much the same, just on different paths.

This is also why I find Steem such an interesting and comfortable place perhaps and, why I think Steem fest would be a great place to observe people in action. There is going to be quite a mix of people with various country, social, wealth and personality backgrounds that will provide an eclectic dynamic since all are there for the same reason, to touch @ned's hair.

I am actually unsure what I am going to do there as on Steem, I am a writer of well, stuff. I don't really specialize in anything and I write across about every topic I can get my head partially around. This is actually the way I speak too which is very frustrating for some people as I bounce from topic to topic pretty quickly. In Finland, they hate strongly dislike conversations that aren't planned ahead of time with an agenda and schedule with marked spaces to indicate when each person is allocated time to speak. I exaggerate but, only slightly.

My personal expectations are relatively low as to what I might get out of SteemFest but I am guessing that many people are there to network and work the rooms in the hope to get various forms of support. Perhaps if I think a little, I would be interested in similar but, maybe I am hoping to be able to find ways to provide support to people. I was writing the other day about reciprocity on Steem and I don't expect anything for nothing.

I am not overly technical but over the last 15 years, I have spent a great deal of my professional time in dozens of IT and manufacturing corporations helping them communicate and connect their technologies and processes to their customers and their internal personnel. I don't write too much about it on Steem because for me, Steem is a place to expand my skillset and think in areas I don't always get to during the day.

There is a great deal of cross-over though and I find that experience does count when it comes to being able to offer back to a community, not just the size of a wallet. Experience is something that I have a fair bit of in a relatively wide arc with many of the experiences the kind that one wouldn't wish on worst enemies.

Yeah, I don't think you have a much better picture of me at all but, that is okay for now and like I have said many times before, the most important part of a post is the comment section underneath. So, you can ask all the questions you want and I will ignore them until at least tomorrow since it is 1 am and I have an early client session in the morning.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Road to SteemFest - Part 1

Sort:  

Ha ha, you hit the nail on the head with this one liner, funny-wise @tarazkp

since all are there for the same reason, to touch @ned's hair.

Oh for the VIP ticket so that I can touch the hair of the almighty steemit overlord. I am also primarily interested in learning from others and seeing what I have to offer them from my skill set. Hope to see you there :-)

Oh for the VIP ticket so that I can touch the hair of the almighty steemit overlord.

I think this should be a standard.

I don't know much about European travel but shouldn't Warsaw, Poland be a close place from Finland? ✈

It isn't too far from Finland, closer than Australia anyway.

"to touch @ned's hair"

Like a kissing booth, with no kissing, just queues and queues of people preparing to touch those smooth silky fluffy flowing locks. . .

. . .only to discover he's balder than Jason Statham in "The Meg," wearing a wig made of horse hair. :0

lol. Perhaps the wig is what the powerdown is being spent on...

Hiya Taraz. If you rae going just go with a relaxed mind to enjoy yourself.

I would love it but, who will post for me? :P

You're actually laid back and relaxed but have painted yourself into a serious corner. You know what you have to do then right.

RUN OVER THE PAINT AND SPLASH HAPPINESS EVERYWHERE XD

Hope nothing critical comes up and you're able to make it to steemfest, better yet if you find some way for everyone to go :)

better yet if you find some way for everyone to go :)

I would love this but unfortunately impossible. Our daughter's foods are so restricted we have to carry everything with us which means we can't get away for more than a night and definitely not internationally.

Impossible just takes longer!

I've catered for friends and their kids with food allergies, have some idea of how much of a mission it can be, and it does make going out for any longer than a day a bit of a mission. Maybe you'll get lucky and find some way to make it work, otherwise I hope that everything goes smoothly enough that you can go at least and the girls have a nice cruisy easy time while you're away :)

Steemfest is a good thing to go to. It not only gets you to put a face to a name, but also to get a better understanding of the person that you cannot get from a blog or comment.
I hope you get to go. The insight you gain and pass along would be beneficial.

The insight you gain and pass along would be beneficial.

I don't know how much insight there will be but I hope that it will bring some different perspectives to work from.

I am going to shoot for the one next year to go to. Have to get a passport. I don't want to use my ID to travel abroad. And will look at a MAC flight. That will cut the travel expense way down.

I had no idea that they met annually to talk about steem, although it is far from participating in that initiative, I like it because of the amount of ideas and initiatives that could come out of there. I wish you success and if you have to participate there I know that they will be positive contributions such as those that you express in your posts that I have been following for some time. Greetings.

you are a good father friend I hope you get to SteemFest3 I know that's how it will be, nice picture with your daughter. @tarazkp

Beers, laughs, and free t-shirts at a minimum. It's a good morale booster too as most who've made the trip are bullish about the future here.

You got a 47.23% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62299.02
ETH 2440.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65