Sort:  

Good luck to you @raj808!

Hi @raj808. Jumping in here with what I hope is not a pompous comment.

Going to Steemfest should be regarded as a business decision, although I know you don't consider the meeting that way. The event has the word "fest" in it and therefore suggests fun, which I know it will be. But, if you were a stockholder in a corporation in the US and went to an information-gathering, or networking function related to that corporation's business--this would be considered a tax-deductible expense.

You have invested in Steemit. Steemit is a corporation. You purchased shares (vests) in the corporation. Going to this function in clearly related to your investment.

So if you need some kind of financial justification (given your concern about debt) this is it. Protect your investment. Go to Steemfest. Most of all, have a great time. And report back. I'd love to hear about it.

Not a pompous comment at all mate. I see it as a career decision as well as an opportunity for fun. It is mainly a chance to network and learn for me. I'm going with a project I am representing @projectgiving but that isn't my project, someone else founded it and I just want to spread it around steemfest as they can't make it. I do have other ideas up my sleeve, which center around my passion, creative writing. Some of the reason is to get to Poland again as I've visited Warsaw once and loved it. Also, to meet some of my steemit heroes ;-)

All of this is just my imaginings though, I'm sure it will be beyond my expectations.

Did you know, I have only ever bough 100 steem! All of my Steem Power comes from curie earnings and post earnings. It's a year of hard work which I've powered up at least 90% (only every taken 40 steem out at the market peak), when at one point in the winter my account said it was worth $3500, crazy. Ha ha, I guess why I'm saying this is that I'm talking my way round to your point of view. Yeah, it is something I deserve and also need to do if I'm gonna get to the point where steemit can help fund my future plans. Hopefully one of these days I'll be worrying about tax returns on freelance earnings, as at the moment there aren't any 😂

Thanks for your comment @agmoore, always insightful and thought provoking.

Have a wonderful time. I'm sure you'll report to us all what happens at steemfest:)

P.s. If you fancy helping me out, check out this link to a contest I entered to win tickets and maybe drop a comment in support

https://steemit.com/steemfest/@raj808/re-smooth-steemfest-ticket-contest-20180824t104645607z

Yes sure will. I meant to include that in my comment and forgot. If I make it to steemfest I will be putting out some unique content, reporting on the conference through the creative writers looking glass. Including stories and poems as well as more traditional articles to document it all, maybe even a vlog or two ;-)

Good thing you wouldn't sell a kidney. Who'd want it? (ha ha)
This "long term chronic condition" - haven't checked out the video yet but will, and first, I have to say all those wretched Anti-Inflammatory Diet books are onto something. Some foods are inflammatory, leading to Krohn's, arthritis, fibro, lupus, acid reflux, cancer, this, that, and the other. Give up processed foods, give up dairy and gluten - what is left, if denied my beloved beer and pizza?? - um, kale, and other stuff that leaves me ready to sell a kidney if it'd allow me to eat what everyone else around me eats. (Denial! They should all suffer the same denial, and eat bugs and broccoli and wear hair shirts and go fasting in the dessert. Gaaaahh!!)
Well,
You might never guess from all that how much I love your posts, Raj.
Write on!

Be careful checking out the video. I lift my shirt at one point and show my perfectly toned physique. Ha ha, it's a belly shot to show the level of inflammation (pregnant belly) I get but if you're squeamish you might want to give that section a miss 😂

My problem is SIBO (small intestinal bacterial overgrowth) and through epic failing to get any form of relief by trying the juice fast (yes that's right I've just gone 7 full days and a night eating no food and drinking only green juices) I got so frustrated that I did an 9 hour internet research session (over two days) and think I have found a more sensible procedure to try next which involves L-glutamine supplements and some natural Antimicrobials (grapefruit seed extract). L-glutamine builds up the intestinal lining of the small intestine while the grapefruit seed extract kills only the bad bacteria in the gut. This is what they say on the internet anyway. We shall see. There are lots of testimonials saying it has helped some people and also a few clinical studies on both so I am hopeful.

Less hopeful of getting to steemfest if I have to keep buying supplements for much longer though ;-)

I feel for you Carol on the exclusion diets, I have done them all but they never helped me and part of me is glad cause I don't want to give up certain foods. I am going to limit them after this fast experience. One thing I learned is what it truly feels like to be hungry, so it is going to be much easier to limit my pasta and bread products.

Thanks for reading my 'good, bad n ugly' post.

Oh, Raj, you need to connect with @crescendoofpeace, if you haven't already! My allergies were confirmed with a blood test (incriminating gluten, milk, eggs, yeast, amaranth, and other ludicrous things). I feel for you. You're too young for this! But no matter what the age, those dreaded juice diets are supposed to be so awesome.

Nacho Cheese Doritos. Somebody tell me I do not miss them. Worthless inflammatory rootbeer floats, or pumpkin pie (milk and eggs in that stuff), much less whipped cream... nope, not me, I just can't wait to dig into my kale and tilapia. (--Pizza! Pizza! Pizza!)

I was drinking kale, celery, cucumber, ginger, kiwi & apple juice 5 days ago. Now that is some disgusting juice lol

tilapia is tasty though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60582.22
ETH 2368.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65