Road to Steemfest: Fears

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago (edited)

This is a good topic – fear. A lot of people whom I've read, are afraid of the social aspect – unmet expectations, false images – even though they're still positive that meeting other Steemians is going to be awesome.

I totally get that, because I used to be extremely socially anxious myself not that long ago. My fear of engaging in social interaction caused me to fail a course in high school because I was afraid of confronting the teacher. I always was the guy who delayed the task of getting myself a dancing partner for the school dances; in upper secondary school I didn't even ask anyone, but just kinda got drift with a partner on the dance lessons.
At high school I finally grabbed the bull by the horns myself by the balls (not like literally though): For the "Elders' Dances" I asked one half-friend kinda familiar to me, but she was already taken. So, then I asked one exchange student – which was probably the most anxious moment of my life thus far, silly I know. She was free though and said yes. I can dance no problem, but for some reason asking a partner was the most scariest thing ever, don't know exactly how I ended being like that, I have few ideas, but let's not make this into another psycho-analysis, shall we?

For my own luck (and yours too) I can tell that I'm much better in social situations now and I'm not afraid of unknown people anymore. I've gotten much more resilient to stressful situations, and generally my stress response isn't as high in social situations anymore, because I've gotten some positive feedback loops from meeting Steemians already, so I know it'll be good.

Transportation

DSC_0252 2.JPG

With the social worries away, I still have the uncertainty of how I'm getting to Krakow, because the plan is to hitchhike there from Tallinn. All the little bureaucracy is dealt with though; my boat ticket from Helsinki to Tallinn is purchased for the 31st of October – exactly 7 days to be in Krakow the 6th of November – and I got a travel insurance for myself. I took a continual one, because I might get some whims on getting some further adventures. Although the "continual" part isn't completely true: it lasts only 3 months for a single trip or a time period outside of Finland. Past the three 3 months you'd have to pay extra, so you'd have to come back home every 3 months to have a valid insurance. Still much better of a option, because it gives more room for some spontaneous acts. Yeah, I don't actually know if I'm getting back home after Steemfest – I might get some stupid great idea to go roaming somewhere else, that remains to be seen.

Of course, there's the fear of ending up to a car of a serial killer rapist as a hostage, but that's a bit irrational fear really, might as well stay inside my house for the rest of my life to avoid that risk. You see where I'm getting at?

Anyhow, small stress isn't bad, it's rather a sign of something exciting and gets me actually hyped up – it has been getting bit boring already at home (as if few weeks were a long time).

Fears are meant to be broken, it's gonna be good ya'll :)


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

Sort:  

With the social worries away, I still have the uncertainty of how I'm getting to Krakow, because the plan is to hitchhike there from Tallinn.

Absolutely epic plan and adventure celestal! Social anxiety can be a killa and something I've also struggled with. I only mention it because I think going out of your comfort zone can be like medicine for anxiety/depression. Especially travel just blows away that inability to start conversations etc as you've no choice but to speak to strangers, or just stay quiet for however long you're traveling... ok maybe if you're a Buddhist on a meditation trip but for anyone else, that's just boring. Ha ha, this has been my experience anyway. Hitching even more so, I did a bit in Ibiza a few years ago and I ended up with a tone of interesting stories from the conversations I had with people who gave me a lift.

I went travelling south east Asia about 10 years ago when I had real problems with social anxiety and I honestly didn't speak to anyone for about 2 weeks, until finally something just snapped in me, or like a switch flicked and I opened up. After that I made friends everywhere I went on that trip. Sometimes I stayed lone travelling, but it was always a choice from that time onward.

Looking forward to meeting in just under 2 weeks. Good luck with the hitching and...

Of course, there's the fear of ending up to a car of a serial killer rapist as a hostage, but that's a bit irrational fear really, might as well stay inside my house for the rest of my life to avoid that risk.

Spot on, that is irrational. That shit only happens in movies ;-)

Especially travel just blows away that inability to start conversations etc as you've no choice but to speak to strangers

For some reason traveling just liberates you from those social restrictions – it's awesome.

until finally something just snapped in me, or like a switch flicked and I opened up. After that I made friends everywhere I went on that trip.

Man, that's so good to hear.

Social anxiety can be a killa and something I've also struggled with. I only mention it because I think going out of your comfort zone can be like medicine for anxiety/depression.

I remember a quote from the guys of Docventures (two Finnish adventurers and media personalities nowadays) that went something along the lines of: "At home you get sick, depressed and you die, so get out to the world!"

Hey celestal I think most of us have some degree of social anxiety so that’s perfectly normal . And don’t worry about the serial killers, most of them are in the US 😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey celestal I think most of us have some degree of social anxiety so that’s perfectly normal

Yea, luckily I'm not bothered by it much nowadays.

And don’t worry about the serial killers, most of them are in the US 😂

Oh, okay, haha!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You got a 7.27% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @acidyo!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for our witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.774 which ranks you at #4789 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 4788).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 275 contributions, your post is ranked at #122.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Damn sorry to read you're approaching Poland from the wrong side! Otherwise I could have take away the fear for transportation and offer you a ride to Krakow, but I'm coming from the west... :(

But this way you're really making Steemfest an adventure with unknown transportation to Krakow. My respect for that, this is really epic! Think you'll have a lot of stories even before Steemfest starts😎

Safe travels 🤙

Damn sorry to read you're approaching Poland from the wrong side! Otherwise I could have take away the fear for transportation and offer you a ride to Krakow, but I'm coming from the west... :(

Asch, too bad, but I'll be fine, and like you said, it'll be an adventure!

Thank you for you for your wishes @guchtere!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77