Physical Road? Unknown.

in #roadtosteemfest6 years ago

Ah, the physical road to Steemfest! The most practical topic – perhaps most boring as well, unless you don't know, what the physical road will be like...

I live in Finland, so I live in the same continent as Krakow, so that already makes things quite a bit more easier to get to Steemfest.

What it'll involve is...

  1. A quick train to Helsinki. (Only 30 km.)
  2. A boat from Helsinki to Tallinn. (I found one that costs only 12€. Nice.)
  3. An unknown amount of car rides.

Yes, I'm going to hitchhike from Tallinn to Krakow.

As I'm living on a budget, that's going to be the cheapest means for getting from point A to point B. It's rather unreliable compared to other means and takes much longer but, for me it's the only way when I look at the prices of plane tickets. Although a bus could be an option; there's a line that goes straight to Krakow from Tallinn, relatively cheap too (70€). However, there's a problem, because that specific line goes bi-weekly, on 2.11 being the closest to Steemfest, but I don't feel like just hanging out alone in Krakow for a few days (and hiding in the bushes in a park).

So, I'm thinking of taking about a week for the attempt to try to hitchhike about 1300 km which would be the distance through straightest route from Tallinn to Krakow. There should be enough wiggling room in that – I haven't hitchhiked before. But hey, how hard can it really be? Stick your thumb up. If it gets desperate, start asking people around.
I'd try to be at Krakow on 6th November where there's going to be an accommodation from AirBnB – reserved by @anomadsoul – with a few more Steemians like @tarazkp and @abh12345 (the rest of the inhabitants of the house may come out on their own pace).

I almost lost my shit out of excitment when @anomadsoul asked if I'd want to join his house, because I was just thinking of my options, and to be able to hang with bunch of other Steemians a whole week instead of a hostel (in the limits of my budget too) – man, it's going to be exciting, crazy too, most likely. Just in case there's a few snoring sounds in the house, or other peculiar sounds, I'll have my earplugs near me.

"But where do you sleep during the journey to Krakow?"

In da woods, ey, what else did you think? Or, maybe I'll make unexpected friends during the journey who'll provide me some shelter, who knows, but I'm not counting on that. I'll be bringing my camping gear so I can self-sustain myself during the trip. The only problem is just that in Poland, wild camping is apparently illegal. As a Finn where there's a lot of freedom to camp pretty much anywhere within reasonable distance of human settlement, I'm calling bullshit on such law. It shouldn't be illegal to have an option to sleep in a fucking forest for a night as long as no damage is done to the environment.
Hm, well, then wild camping just becomes stealth camping. I'll have to see in the moment how I manage my nights in Poland, but having the experience from my bicycle trip, I've already trained my eye to spot places where there's not much human activity anyway, so I think I would get away with hiding in the bushes.

indawoods.JPG
Or what do you think?

I don't mind at all making my way like this as I'm a bit wild by heart. Furthermore, it'll keep things more interesting and make it more rewarding when I (hopefully) make it to Steemfest. I think I'd actually get more stressed over the bureaucracy of airports. I'm not afraid of flying – have still done it twice in my life – but I prefer not using them if possible.

In theory I could've bicycled to Krakow, but I'm afraid my knees would not be able to take it right after my recent trip. Weather might bring some problems too if I decided to return to Finland. I guess I could make a tour somewhere in south throughout winter, but again, my knees.


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

Sort:  

Yes, I'm going to hitchhike from Tallinn to Krakow.

Darn. It's been so long since my hitchhiking days. I miss it! Although I hate people, I love risking my neck not knowing if the next car has a driver who's drunk as fuck, rapist, serial killer or someone trying to convert me to believing in to something. Or all of these! Which is always such fun.

Oh wait. I wasn't supposed to say that...

I hope you have fun hitchhiking, meet lots of new people and have a safe journey.

But hey, how hard can it really be? Stick your thumb up. If it gets desperate, start asking people around.

Exactly! Write your destination on to a cardboard. That should help. Two destinations, the ultimate destination and some city that is a bit nearer.

Let's hope the Polish police don't lock you up or beat you down... or is it also up? Beat you up? Well, who cares which, if it doesn't include beating. You'd get a roof over your head, but you might miss the Steemfest if the Police catches you. But let's all stay hush hush about this.

Fuck The Police!

First and foremost, thanks for a hilarious comment! 😂

Oh wait. I wasn't supposed to say that...

No worries, I already know that every single human being on Earth is dangerous and wants to kill me and make believe in imagined things, of course 😁

Fuck The Police!

Exactly! Though I think I should not express myself in that manner if I'm going confront some.

Nice to know you guys are gonna stay together. It certainly wil make for fun times and exciting stories to tell.

P.S. I'm willin to stake there will be a snorer

"The only problem is just that in Poland, wild camping is apparently illegal. As a Finn where there's a lot of freedom to camp pretty much anywhere within reasonable distance of human settlement, I'm calling bullshit on such law."
Speaking about stupid laws in Poland. it seems that they have a law that allows authors to disregard original agreement and gives them a right to demand millions after many years:

Wow, I'd be upset too if I sold rights for immediate profit of 9000 dollars that could've brought millions. Don't think he (The Witcher author) is going to get anywhere with the case. Shouldn't have disregarded the power of video games, haha.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.751 which ranks you at #4754 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 4764).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 260 contributions, your post is ranked at #136.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76