You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem - Full Review of the 2017 Roadmap

in #roadmap8 years ago

I just saw your comment on my own review and I came here. I am particularly interested in this:

While these new proposals create value for the overall Steem & Steemit ecosystem, it fails to address a real revenue stream for the platform.

I think there is much confusion here between Steem the blockchain, Steemit the website and the ecosystem of apps. Steem is a platform and it's up to the participants to develop sustainable business models, if so they choose. Steemit.com is a minimum viable product (an MVP, in VC lingo), nothing more. It proves this thing works. By opening the door to third-party devs to arbitrarily split the review, Steem make the right decision: give them tools, don't numb them.

At least, that's my opinion.

I was briefly seeing the anonymity thing you mentioned and I think it's a bit hilarious. But that's just me.

Steem on!

Sort:  

100% correct. Steemit is an MVP, yet because we're draining the reward pool with every post created, the overall value of STEEM continues to decline. With a revenue stream, we avoid this problem. But like you said, any third-party can solve this issue by creating their own application with its own revenue streams.

haha the anonymity thing is arguable. I think if you've nothing to hide, it's not an issue. Though I can understand the reason for it, some people like the extra privacy.

Thanks for your comment @dragosroua!

because we're draining the reward pool with every post created, the overall value of STEEM continues to decline.

Please have a look at this: https://steemit.com/steemit/@dragosroua/why-there-is-no-such-thing-as-draining-the-reward-pool :)

That's a good post. What I said was wrong, what I meant to say is that, the market value of Steem continues to be drained as more money is coming out then coming in; more sell pressure than buy pressure.

The part of your statement that is correct (in my opinion) is: "more sell pressure than buy pressure", and it's just natural. A lot of Steem was blocked into a lot of people accounts and if they don't want to take part in this anymore, they can sell it freely. It was expected to happen since December last year, after HF 16.

The design of Steem, as a currency, is inflationary, it means money is "printed" every day, it's not a fixed supply that is "drained" (reading the Steemit white paper will help here, probably).

But you are right in observing that there is a selling pressure. In my opinion this is toxic money getting our of the system and healthy money getting in. It's a natural process.

Kia Ora!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64