Ripple makes biggest donation ever [and crypto is on mainstream tv again!]

in #ripple6 years ago

Ripple just funded ALL 35,000 projects on donorschoose.org

They donated $29 mln, which is the largest donation to the platform ever.

I have to admit, my first thought was, "Well done, Ripple! Great PR stunt!"

Screen Shot 2018-03-29 at 18.19.49.png


But then my "higher Anja" ;) reminded me to look at the bigger picture here and focus on the GOOD STUFF.

THIS IS WHAT BLOCKCHAIN CAN DO!!!

Anyone (well, sort of) can set up a blockchain that spits out coins, and do incredibly good things with it! All the good things that our current banks and governments and "guardians of centralised money" won't do, or only after making us jump through millions of bureaucracy-hoops.

And who cares that it was a PR stunt - tens of thousands of teachers and students are benefiting from it.

That's what counts.

The other good thing about this is

... that cryptocurrencies have now been on mainstream tv for the second time, after John Oliver's recent intro to crypto. And this time with very positive emotions attached.

Maybe this will help bring some new enthusiasm to the crypto space (or should I say markets...?) ;)

Sort:  

That's 53 million ripples!

Don't even get me started on Ripple! >:)

I have zero respect for the media, back and forth allllll the time... :)

Bunch of ugly sock puppets! :D

I think that the blockchain is a shitty way to do a fundraiser. Especially if you're using a centralized one to achieve that. It's like saying: "Okay, give me your money I'll put you on this list and then do whatever I want with your money!"... Then you donate to charity or whatever. It would be a lot better to just tell the people "Give me your money I will donate it to charity"...

People that invested in Ripple got tricked. They invested for the gains and got a charity instead of development.

This reads like virtue signaling where the banks can exploit people who indulge in those same behaviors (or perhaps just really like supporting public schools teachers), but carries little risk with backfiring if they were utilizing the investments of others. To indiscriminately fund all of the projects begs for consideration by folks whose have or planned to invest.

Ripple's 'value' is saving banks money and time. Banks could save $3.76 per payment if they used it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85