John Oliver explains Cryptocurrencies (and does it really well!)

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Funny commentator John Oliver took on the subject of cryptocurrencies the other day, and I have to say, he did a great job!

I sort of expected him to make fun of the whole thing and write it off, but he didn’t. His commentary is actually really well researched.

He doesn’t only talk about Bitcoin and blockchain but also about terms like HODL, FUD, Mooning etc - from the crypto slang dictionary, as well as pump and dump signal groups and Bitconnect.

He didn’t have anything positive to say about EOS, but that’s just based on his personal opinion of Brock Pierce it seems.

I liked the last three minutes where he advises people to be responsible, only he does it Bitconnect-style ;)

You can watch this for entertainment or to actually learn about the essence of blockchain and the cryptospace.

Sort:  

love john olivier dayle got me into him all over again.

I like him in interviews, but haven’t watch too much of his shows yet. Sometimes he’s a bit too arrogant for me (like the bit where he makes fun of EOS, it’s funny from his perspective but not so much from EOS believers’ perspective of course :))

'believers' -- you make it sound like religion! lol (no thanks!) -- but yeah everyone can influence the outcomes of these things -- it's interesting that he found his audience in the US, because here he kinda never got his own show he was part of the comedy 'quad' setup as a panel -- maybe the US made him extra spunky and arrogant. dunno -- i find him funny and his setups are crazy good how he uses storytelling to make people actually think ;) -- gonna watch that episode later today.

I'm fasting and can't think properly :) "believers" was the first word that came to mind, but you're right :D

Hahaha....

Nice. In agreement that JO does a great job! I, unfortunately, was Dan the office guy in that everyone knew I was into Bitcoin. But yeah, why does Brock gotta be such a douche?

We all need a Dan to get us started :D
I've seen many non-douchey things of Brock Pierce. Of course they did not pick those for the clip ;)

I did like it, as you said he did well his homeworks

I also thought he did a good job explaining things and his main message was "be careful" - something that you're almost not allowed to advise in the cryptosphere without being accused of spreading FUD. In the end, it exposes his entire viewer base to crypto, a good thing ultimately!

For future viewers: price of bitcoin at the moment of posting is 9826.40USD

Ah what a bummer ! the video was deleted.
You didn't save a copy did you?

No it wasn’t ?

are you sure ?
All I see is 'this video is unavailable'
and when i click through to youtube i do not even see it there ether!

How strange. It plays fine for me. Here and on YouTube... 😳

Are you in a country that doesn’t allow it?

I am in NZ and don't have a problem with it usually.
I can watch other videos of his. What is the name of the video?

“Cryptocurrencies: Last week tonight with John Oliver”
Hope you’ll find it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57430.35
ETH 2423.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32