More Ditko lovešŸ•·

in #rip ā€¢ 6 years ago

"More Ditko lovešŸ•·" - @JimMahfood

A collection of creators sharing their love and memories of Steve Ditko and his works.


Spider-Man. Dr. Strange. The Question. The Creeper. Shade the Changing Man. Hawk & Dove. He worked with Marvel AND DC Comics. Such an astounding imagination and the awesome ability to back it up. Thank you Steve Ditko, for sharing your genius and enriching American Pop Culture. - @ThatKevinSmith

My version of Spidey drew a ton of inspiration from Mr. Ditko's original version from 1962. His "quirky" art style lead me to try different things on the page and the return of webs under his arms and lots of web lines on his costume came from Steve's original run. Ā Though I never met him in person, he made an artistic impact on how I would eventually draw Spidey 30 years after his. - @Todd_McFarlane




Steve Ditko created some of the most fascinating characters, in their designs & visual personalities. He brought a magic and a humanity even to his most surreal ideas. Ā I used to draw Spider-Man as a very young child & I image his Spider-Man design started many young kids drawing Ā - @davidmackkabuki


Sharing a beautiful Steve Ditko ink and wash page from Eerie Magazine (1960s) Ditko was a giant, and his work was a big part of my life. Steve Ditko - @JerryOrdway


Steve Ditko. Ā Ā Such a giant in the medium. Ā For years I was a little intimidated by the costume he designed for Spider-Man. Ā A student asked me to draw one for a friend, and it suddenly clicked. One of the best costumes in comics. - @rpace



Goodbye, Steve Ditko, and thanks for everything, you weird legend. What strange and amazing things you achieved. - @warrenellis


Rest In Peace, Mr Ditko, and thank you. Spider-Man helped teach me to read, and inspired me to draw. Then, for good measure, he helped pay my bills. Thatā€™s pretty Amazing. Ā - @Drew_E_Johnson



I would've given anything to have lived inside Steve Ditko's head for a day. And he got to do it for 90 years. We were all just lucky to be able to enjoy the fruits of his beautiful weirdness. Thank you for always being you, Mr. Ditko. Rest in peace. - @jasonaaron


I had the wonderful opportunity to draw another of Steve Ditko's amazing creations a little while back. Ā I had so much fun doing this cover with my good friend Bill Sienkiewicz. Ā Deathstroke#11 cover b/w art featuring The Creeper! Ā RIP Steve Ditko - ā€@DenysCowan


It's been almost sixty years, and nobody was able to top his original creations. We just keep going back to them 'cause we could never be as weird and cool and timeless. RIP Ditko. Ā - ā€ @zdarsky


Had to draw one of his tonight: Ā Starman, designed by Steve Ditko - Ā @PatrickZircher



RIP grandmaster Steve Ditko. You changed the game, man... - @JimMahfood


Some images of my collaboration with Steve Ditko. I inked and scripted this story from Marvel Comics Presents #83. May he rest in peace. - @ErikJLarsen



[BBC4] In Search Of Steve Ditko - Full Documentary

Crypto Collectibles presents 1st Issue Special #7 for PhotoBomb Challenge #29 - Entry #2

Rest in Peace - Steve Ditko (1927 - 2018)


Two years ago, I sent Ditko a letter about his Rom work and included our new series as thanks for the inspiration. He politely sent this. He made it clear that modern comics weren't to his tastes but I appreciate the thoughtful if perplexing response as to why he felt that way. - ā€ @chris_ryall

Sort: Ā 

Great post, loved every bit of it. A very nice collection of thoughts for such a cool guy, who had such a cool career. Stan lee is about that same age. In their 90s they both have had a real good run at this world. I hope I can see 90 someday.

That last image of his writing about modern comics is hilarious. Things have changed so much in his time. Priceless.

RIP Steve Ditko, may the bards sing your praise for 1000 generations.

That letter really did it for me as well. I could have probably made this post twice as long, I guess Steve writing letters was a little super nerdy secret that some knew about, here are a few more letters he would hand write back to fans:

What a fucking great guy he was, check the dates, he had been corresponding with fans for years.

Fantastic. Love seeing all the folks who have been positively impacted by him. I mean...if you are a comic fan, chances are that you are a fan of his.

thx for this amazing post, even if it comes in sad circumstances.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63935.07
ETH 3138.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87