Rhapsodist Writing Contest #3 – Write a Stream of Consciousness Piece from the Worst Nightmare You Have Ever Had

in #rhapsodist7 years ago

Rapsodist Writing Challenge_MH.jpg

Rhapsodist Writing Contest #3 – Write a Stream of Consciousness Piece from the Worst Nightmare You Have Ever Had

The third challenge of the Rhapsodist Writing Contest is to write a stream of consciousness piece during the worst nightmare you have ever had. For some inspiration, please check out the YouTube clip below What it’s Like to Experience Schizophrenic Symptoms. This is a first-person, point-of-view video featuring what a person with schizophrenia experiences during a psychotic episode (break from reality).

What is a Stream of Consciousness Piece?

In literature, the stream of consciousness is a method of story-telling which describes in words the flow of thoughts and emotions in the minds of characters. It is not a description of how or what they do, but the thought processes (monologue) associated with their actions and emotions. The YouTube video from Scotty Wings Rolled onto My Page – Scott Wings Stream of Consciousness Writing provides a great example of stream of consciousness writing.

Contest Rules

The contest will run through Sunday, September 3, 2017, 11:59 PM UTC. I have decided to increase the prize pool for this contest, with a prize of 10 SBDs up for grabs to the winner and a 5 SBD prize for the runner up. I will be the judging this third contest and the rules of the contest are:

  1. All entries must be 500 words or less.
  2. Limit one entry.
  3. Vote and Resteem this post.
  4. Please post your entry on your own blog and use the hashtag #rhapsodist.
  5. Please paste the link to your published blog post in the comment thread below to enter this contest.
  6. The contest will end Sunday, September 3, 2017, 11:59 PM UTC.
  7. The contest winners will be announced on Wednesday, September 6, 2017.

Good luck to all the participating authors. I look forward to reading some incredible flash fiction.


What is the Rhapsodist Writing Contest?

After judging two Artquest challenges, I found myself actively looking to bring a challenge of my own to the Steemit community. During my most recent interview with @kennyskitchen, we were discussing how we both missed the fiction and chapter books which used to be very actively published here on Steemit. Unfortunately, as Steemit grew, long form chapter books generally did not do well.

It led me to look towards developing a writing challenge which would focus on flash fiction instead of long form fiction and non-fiction. But I wanted the emphasis to be on stretching the creativity of the participating authors and challenging them to develop some incredible, unique content which will diversify the content pool on Steemit.

Sort:  

I remember one horrible nightmare.

@xusayz please take a moment to write about it from a stream of consciousness perspective and enter into the contest. From the feedback I have been receiving, both I and the community following this contest, would love to see where your creativity takes you.

It would be really nice read those experiences and well need to give a shot let see how this goes for me. Thanks.

@vishalmukadam thanks for checking out the next writing contest. I appreciate the support.

Nightmares have always fascinated me , particularly when having a lucid dream. It gives the individual experiencing that dream, a peek into their subconscious psyche and a chance to interact with (and learn from) the irrational fears inside.

I find this challenge to be one of the more interesting ones.

@lpfaust,
Wow friend you are doing an amazing work! Actually I hate writing but your inspirations are telling me, I need to write for this contest :D But I don't know... how to do that!
Anyway congratz for all participants! And thanks for giving this great opportunity to writers to enhance their writing skills!

(My voting power is still regenerating, therefore please allow me five more days to provide 100% upvotes for your posts)

Cheers~

@theguruasia thanks for stopping by to check out the latest writing contest. I appreciate the support.

From my perspective, a writer is not some sacred wordsmith whose been qualified by a public filled with arbitrary tastes. It's a person who decides to pick up a pen and simply shares their ideas in their own words.

If the challenge inspires you, by all means pick up the pen and share your story with us all. That, my friend, will make you a writer. Based on the feedback I am receiving, it's what the community at large wants to see from this contest.

I'm looking forward to reading your entry into this contest.

Upvote and resteem, and think about new topic)

@stranniksenya thanks for stopping in to read about the latest Rhapsodist Writing Contest. I appreciate the support.

Thanks for taking some time to write and compete in the last contest as well. I do look forward to reading your entry into this contest as well. I'd like to see your stream of consciousness during your nightmare.

Woow nic post 👍 @lpfaust

@hassanrouh thanks for checking it out. Care to compete in this contest for a chance to win 10 SBDs ? I'd encourage you to give it a shot.

As usual, I take part. Just want to clarify - is it a nightmare, or any nightmare event from real life?

@dlina-v-metrah thanks for being a regular for this writing contest and supporting it through competing upvoting and resteeming. I appreciate all of it.

In this particular case, it would be a nightmare as opposed to a real life event. Hope that clarifies it.

Interesting theme! Good luck to participants.

@shirish5 thanks for your continued support. I do appreciate it.

I'm glad you enjoyed the theme, thought it would be an interesting challenge to most of the fiction writers in the community, and it would allow the readers and fans a look behind their creative process.

Personally, I find stream of consciousness to be one of the best tools to get my thoughts out of my head to organize. Care to throw your hat into the ring and compete this week?

@dlina-v-metrah I see you have upvoted this contest post and resteemed it. Your contest entry is also attached to the comment thread.

Congratulations, your entry has been accepted for the Rhapsodist Writing Challenge #3. Thank you for participating in this contest and good luck.

now that is going to be very interesting one !!

@blazing thanks for stopping by to check out the most recent contest. As always, I appreciate the support.

Can I encourage you to throw your hat into the ring? I'd love to see where this challenge takes your mind and the writing that comes from it.

@stranniksenya I see you have upvoted this contest post and resteemed it. Your contest entry is also attached to the comment thread.

Congratulations, your entry has been accepted for the Rhapsodist Writing Challenge #3. Thank you for participating in this contest and good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62300.84
ETH 2421.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56