You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rhapsodist Writing Contest #4 – Bibblings and Scribblings (Not for Contest Consideration)

in #rhapsodist7 years ago

@modernpastor thanks for taking some time to check out my "unoffical" entry for the Rhapsodist Writing Contest which I sponsor and run.

I have always been fascinated by writing since I was a child reading my first books. Ironically, at that age it was all about mystery novels. I have always felt the word choices in a great piece of writing create layers and textures similar to great paintings or great food. The phonetics of word choices, the meter created by the syllables of those words and the conjunctions picked can set a mood, pull a reader into your mind and transport them to a different place - real or imagined.

After learning two foreign languages (Spanish and French), I started to enjoy colloquial phrases - saying s in one language which have no literal translation into another. Language is such a powerful medium for any artist.

I would love to encourage you to enter into the weekly Rhapsodist Writing Challenge to compete for the prize.

Once upon a time Steemit had a very active fiction community which published chapter novels and tons of creative writing. Once HF 19 came through, all of that changed and much of the writing disappeared. I'd like to bring much of it back, and I think flash fiction is the first step. I would appreciate any help you could provide to encourage more people to enter into this contest. As time goes on, I do plan to expand/increase the reward pool, and I have some other ideas on how to expand the Rhapsodist Writing Contest to support long form writing as well.

Sort:  

Hey my fiend,

this sounds really interesting and I can feel your passion.
Tell me how can I​ participate exactly in the weekly Rhapsodist Writing challange?

@modernpastor I release a new contest every Sunday, and the contest runs through the following Sunday until 11:59 UTC. The Rhapsodist Contest #4 has already closed. I will be posting Contest #5 (including the rules to participate) later this evening.

I'd love to have you join the participants and spread the word to encourage any of your students to participate as ell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.86
ETH 2476.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66