Steemians Steemians Lend Me Your Ears...Is There A Problem With The Amount We Are Being Paid Or Am I An Idiot???steemCreated with Sketch.

in #rewards6 years ago (edited)

Okay...So Here's my question...It's a simple one and maybe I lack clarity?

Are we being underpaid and if so, why???


Source

Last week I wrote a piece of short fiction for the fabulous writing prompt contest by @themarkymark and it was quite well received and I actually gained my first ever @curie love as you can well imagine I was thrilled. My post reached $13.53 and although I realise that to many here, this amount is insignificant, but to me it marks the second highest payout I have ever received.

As the past couple of days went by and payout time approached; I started to realise that at the current price of Steem I was gonna grow significantly. My SP before this was in the low 90's I have powered up or donated any Steem I have received to date so as you can see my growth has been far from stratospheric but I am happy with my journey on the whole.

My thinking went something along the lines of...Rounding down slightly for mathematical simplicity I will receive around $10 after curation rewards. (It was $10.22).
At current average price of Steem 25 cents, rounding up slightly for mathematical simplicity each $ will pay me 4 Steem so my SP will go up by a nice easy to calculate 40 SP, seems pretty straight forward, right?

I received 25.7 SP???


Source

So to reiterate my opening question, am I missing something or are we being underpaid?

I am on the cusp of purchasing quite an amount of Steem as I am not worried by the FUD and I believe we will be here and we will flourish, grow and thrive as this bear market finally turns it's face toward the sun again. However, this has

I would sincerely appreciate any insight on this matter as I am uber-confused!

To a brand new person, this could seem a little shady, right? I mention this because I am in a Discord discussion right now, discussing how to onboard, support and encourage new people. I sometimes feel a little uncomfortable with some of the practices here, but when it comes to being uncomfortable with something as seemingly straight forward as the post payouts...that's a concern, right?

I'm sure someone will be able to assist with a little advice, the blockchain has a way of sending the cool-peeps our way with a little help, right when we need it. BTW I hope nobody misunderstands my point. I am not here just to accumulate crypto...If I was, I'd have gone the same way as many others by now lol. BUT I think this matter needs a little clarification for the community.

Regardless of any answer that is forthcoming I would say to people.

  • Stick around.
  • Keep on posting, networking and making fabulous friends.
  • Keep honing your skills.
  • Believe that you are in the right place at the right time.
  • Have FUN!

Because together we are just better...


Source

Sort:  

Rewards are being paid out according to 'internal' price of steem (recently hovering around 40 cents U.S.D.) not the external price you may see listed. That is probably what caused your calculations to be off Steven.

Regards

Thank you, my friend, always quick to help others as I have come to expect.

May I take this opportunity to wish the very best of the season to you and yours, from me and mine.

I hope 2019 sees many of yours hopes and dreams come to fruition.🙂

If you look at your rewards on Steemit, they will look a lot higher than they are. Try looking on Steempeak.com ... you'll see the difference right away.

@shadowspub
The current Rambling Radio Schedule can be found here
It's All About Community!

Thanks so much for the top-tip.

Thankyou for the shows that have helped me learn so much and meet so many other cool people in my first year on the blockchain I am incredibly optimistic for 2019!

Have a fabulous festive season and an unparalleled 2019 to you and yours from me and mine 🙂

thank you for your kind word @stevenwood ... always a pleasure to see you in the shows.

Hope we see you often in 2019 and all the best to you and yours.

@shadowspub
The current Rambling Radio Schedule can be found here
It's All About Community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82