Lost in Space (season 2)

in #review5 years ago

I had completely forgotten about this show until Netflix notified me that season 2 was released. I hit that play button so fast, and when the theme song began, all those old emotions came flooding back. I realized I missed the Robinsons, and that darn lovable robot.

I don't have a review for season 1 out, but I hope you have all seen it by now. I haven't seen Lost in Space get much hype, and I wish it did. It's a feel-good show, and touches base on things as small and mundane as family values, to killer space robots. What's not to love?

As for s2, it's not as good as s1, but I always say that. What can I say, I like beginnings.

However, s2 does have good character development for a few notable characters, and a few moments that brought me to tears. The story didn't exactly go in the direction I was expecting, but I was happy with it. The three Robinson kids have my heart - and so does Debbie.

STOP NOW IF YOU HAVEN'T SEEN SEASON 1 AND 2

SPOILERS AHEAD!

000.jpg

In season 2, we don't get to see Will's Robot until the last few episodes, and the show doesn't revolve around him. In s1, Robot was saving Will, his family, or the other travellers countless times. But things have changed. Robot has grown, and now - he has a will of his own.

Maureen and Penny pointed out how Robot was different, while Will wanted to deny it because he wanted his old friend back. Robot saved and mourned a horse, then his friend, and eventually said no to what Will told him to do. He was rebelling, but not in the way everyone thought. He was his own person now, but still a good one.

That's my favourite part of s2, that the Robot was able to gain a sense of individuality. He developed a conscience, he mourned his friend horse's death, he denied orders to do what he thought was right, and then at the end, he tells Will that he feels hope. Everyone except for Will was wrong about these Robots.

And he proved that they aren't just killing machines when he saved Scarecrow too. Robot wasn't just a special robot, an exeption, the were all capable of it. But let's be real, lots of those humans don't even deserve it. The robots are just trying to get back an engine that was stolen from them. Their anger is justified in my books. Especially after seeing them drill into Robots head, or zap them with electricity as a way to control them. Fucking humans. That same greed is what killed Earth in the first place, I imagine.

Robots aside, the Robinsons had a good season. Judy stepped up in a number of ways. Penny struggled with her identity, but found what she was good at - people. Will is only 12, but he's not the scared boy he used to be. Maureen and John stayed their badass selves, which is impressive enough. Don remained the same too, but I always love scenes with him. He's constantly coming to the Robinsons rescue. When he wrapped Penny in a warm blanket after she flew through space in a freezer, I knew I'd die for that man. Debbie is one lucky girl.

001.jpg

Dr. Smith (why are we still calling her that?) had a surprising end, though it hardly felt like that. Even though they most likely showed her helmet instead of dead body for the sake of the show being family friendly, a part of me thinks she's still alive somehow. Maybe Scarecrow rescued her. Anything's possible, okay? I was beginning to like her. Last season she was impressive, but it was infuriating to see her get away with all the lies, which did continue into this season. The compassion however, was knew. She couldn't face the kid who's father she killed, because even though she can lie and steal out of self interest, taking a life directly filled her with guilt. Some humanity was left in Dr. Smith, and I felt for her when John said she didn't deserve the second change he gave her (which really, she had way more than 2) I thought that might shut down the compassion that was growing in her, at least for the family, but it didn't. Even without their respect, she sacrificed herself to keep the kids safe. Redemption arc, complete.

Same goes for Adler, who died somewhat of a stupid death. Im convinced if he ran, he would have made it back to the Jupiter on time. I guess my dude just wanted his hero moment. I would have liked if he stayed alive and we knew more about his past, how he got those scars, and what he did wrong that made the robot turn against him. I have a feeling he hurt him, thinking the robot couldn't feel real pain. A more scientist approach than Will's, who treated the Robot as a person from the start.

And because of that, this final paragraph will be dedicated to the purest boy, Will. He saves robots that were trying to kill him only moments ago, befriends them, teaches them to play with baseballs, and paint pictures on cave walls. Protect him at all costs.

002.jpg

Let me know what you think of the show below!

Sort:  

Congratulations @tvreviews! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.40
ETH 2350.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40