Thinking and a brief overview of epic fantasy worlds

in #review6 years ago

Epic fantasy, as a genre of literature, definitely further developed at the end of the 20th century, and experienced a complete worldwide expansion in various New Titles and Writers, as well as in the diversity of the ideas themselves.

I've always loved to read, and I've always wandered around among genres until I accidentally took from my friend a book named Game Game of Thrones, the first in the Song of Ice and Fire series. I began to read it only for the reason that I had previously read Historical Fiction, and realized that the fiction incorporating in it some facts could bring an additional dimension to the work itself, as well as that it takes you to some other world you could not imagine. I ventured into the adventure not knowing that it would do most of my read books in the future. I swallowed the book one by one, at least those that were translated into Serbian, eagerly awaiting the sequels of the series. And you believe me, waiting has been here for a long time, because our publishers have delayed it. Very early on, I started this adventure in the world of epic fantasy and my English was on very faint legs. For years I have improved my English language skills, and I no longer had to be conditioned solely by works that were translated into my language. Then it seems to me that the adventure that has already been too big has become even more grandiose and better.

What I later realized was that I went too suddenly into the entire imaginary world. Why? Because I started the High Fantasy part of this genre, which in fact did not represent a good basis for further reading. Regardless of how I became more and more informed about the writers and their works, I realized that I had no other choice than to continue at the same pace. I read one series after another to that measure that I could read a series of five separate novels in a span of fifteen days. Yes, just that much. I'm not sure if I could do it now, or would I have time too.

What makes this genre of the literature so appealing to me?

In fact, first there was magic. The magic combined with some elements of warriors, societies and races that had some basics in the Middle Ages. But Magic, some writers less relied on their ideas on the postulate of magic, but some were based on whole worlds, universes that were resting and magically powered. Those writers, to whom magic was a priority, have become my favorite. Another thing about magic was that, no system relied on anyone else. There were no copies. Brandon Sanderson is definitely a grandmaster in this regard because his magic systems are so perfectly logical and in the most incredible ways designed to stop reading at some point and to ask yourself How is it possible that this does not already exist.

The other thing that attracted me was the construction of the worlds. Different worlds, continents, races of people, lands, all make one-sided their work. There are a few writers who have not dealt with this segment of the story, and that their works are not noticed. Building the world is actually the basic setting of the whole story, and only after that other things are put in place and modified to fit into the idea. Opportunities in this regard are unthinkable.

The third part, but not less important, is the construction of characters. Believe me, in the works of epic fantasy you will meet some of the most picturesque characters there is. In High Fantasy Fantasy, no character is quite good, or completely evil. Over all of their lives, too many layers are covered in the past to be simple or predictable. Nothing is just black or just white, but made up of many layers of gray. Large palettes of human feelings will be presented to you directly or subtly. Great pain and great suffering, great sacrifices, as well as great happiness and joy.

What is another advantage of these worlds that leaves you enough space for your own additions to this, or to that part of the world. Or Characters. Or Magic. And when you add your own understanding of some parts, then they become your forever and you can not forget them. It allows you to imagine and turn away from the roads imagined by writers, but at the same time they guide you along their path.

For all these reasons, and many others that can not be described well enough, these series and novels will become yours.


Image1

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hello @stormlight24, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82