Review - My first impression of Cafe press

in #review7 years ago

I've had my Redbubble shop for a while now, but I decided to see if I could add my designs and pictures elsewhere aswell. This morning, I checked out Cafe press.

I'll give a comparison on two different subjects.

Design editing
Editing my design on Redbubble takes a while. You have the basics though: Size and position. On Cafe press, you have these options aswell. Sometimes. Depending on the product, you can't always increase the size of your design. This is fair enough, but when this happens, you also don't have a say in the position of the design. This means on multiple occassions, I've had to remove a product, because the design was simply placed in the wrong spot.

What's also annoying is that you either have the small size, where you cannot change the position of your design, or you get the big size, where you can go even bigger and change the position. You can't go for a size in between the two.

On Redbubble, products are grouped together. You can edit the design per group. On Cafe press, you can edit each product seperately. This sounds better, but the grouping on Redbubble is pretty well done and I haven't found a product with a crappy design placement yet.

Redbubble definitely wins this one for being more intuitive, less quirky and, surprisingly, faster.

Presentation
Redbubble gives you a profile and a shop to fill. The web design is theirs and all you can do is add some text and a header plus logo. Your account is one of many and it is quite easy for your visitors to wander from your page to the entire Redbubble shop, meaning they'll get to see everyone's designs and you basically just lost your chance at a (cross) sell.

Cafe press seems to give you an own subsite where you display your own products. It does not seem to link back to other people's designs easily, so you're sure your visitors will stick to your own products. You start with a theme and then get to edit basically everything you want. This can be a daunting task, especially for the not so tech-savvy, but I think that, if you put in a lot of time to learn this and make it your own, it can become a pretty good webshop.

For ease, I'd go for Redbubble, but if you have enough time and html knowledge, I think Cafe press wins this one.

Which one to pick?
For now, I will stick most of my time in Redbubble (though i've been slacking a lot there aswell). Mainly because I already have more pictures and designs there. Also because it already has a good shop design, so I don't have to worry about that. I think Cafe press can be really useful too and you can make it your own. The quirks while editing your designs can be a bit annoying though, so you'll have to live with that.

This is my Cafe press webshop that I created this morning. It looks quite aweful and I'm not adding more designs to it for now. I'd rather sell my items on Redbubble, because I'm already sure they pay out, no matter how little you earned that month. Ofcourse, I still have my Deviantart page. I sell prints of all of my pictures there, so it definitely is the most elaborate one. However, Deviantart doesn't sell many additional products, which is why I like Redbubble. I can sell shirts there.

These are some of my own favorite products I'm selling over at Redbubble:

At dawn Tic Tac Toe Design logo



Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |

Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem and Follow!


Sort:  

Thanks for sharing the comparison of Red Bubble and CafePress. I have wondered about both but not yet used them.

Have you heard of Vida.com? I have found the clothes to be of good quality fabric and finished nicely using images from my original artwork. https://shopvida.com/collections/lynda-leonard

They also have been doing a lot of promotion. It may be another useful outlet for you. ~ljl~

Ooh that looks great! I'm going to bookmark that one and check it out better once I've moved, thanks so much for the suggestion!

By the way, I love your designs, they're very pretty and earthy. The pillows look amazing!

Thanks for sharing! I am also pondering about using one of these services. Did you try pixels.com? Looks quite impressive, check it out!

Ooh I didn't know about that one! It looks really great. Gonna bookmark that one :-)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.61 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

nice idea and implementation , im working on some cafe project you can follow it here :
https://steemit.com/photography/@sarmast1992/cafe-terrace-photography-project-by-me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53