The Most Boring Pacific Rim: Uprising Review in The Universe

in #review6 years ago (edited)

pacificrim.png

It's been about a year since I've last watched a movie in the cinema, so I decided to attend a corporate screening organised by Inspidea just a couple of hours ago. There were folks from 12 different countries, all enthusiastically gathered like a big family in a hall to enjoy a night of giant mechas and Godzilla-like monsters on the big screen.

Much to my regret, I finished my bag of popcorns before the show even started. It's been a while.

Plot & theme: Slightly better than average

Well, the plot is standard action Hollywood stuff that's on the better end of the spectrum. I wouldn't say that it's entirely predictable, but the plotholes and liberal use of deus ex machinas are. Nothing to complain though. It has cool ass robots. It has the usual end-of-the-world scenario that pits human-beings against non-human and violent megabeasts. What else do you need in an epic and politically-safe action movie?

Casts & Performance: Not bad

Nothing mind-blowing. It's okay. Nothing much to say. There were some familiar-looking faces. The three that stood out to me looked like they're younger versions of Denzel Washington, Natalie Portman, and Willem Dafoe. Pretty sure they're not part of the cast, but I felt right at home with their lookalikes. The ensemble is stereotypically diverse and 21st century enough that it works for a global audience. There were only a couple of cringe moments that annoyed me, but who cares about my feelings?

Audio & Visual: Quite nice

This is a triple-A action movie. So it's not surprising that it's good enough to be worth the ticket price of ~$4.00. Nothing artsy of course, but it's movie magic enough. I guess ultimately it'd depend on the cinema that you're in though. Mine was the standard ticket in the average cinema. Can't really judge the audio, but it does sound sufficiently action-packed.

Verdict: Just go watch it

I felt like I didn't waste my time watching the movie. My left and right seats unanimously agreed that it's at least better than any of the Godzilla movies. Will I watch it again? Most likely not, unless I get a hot date with Jing Tian to watch her own movie for the 198th time lol. Regardless, I'd certainly like to follow-up on the next Pacific Rim! What did you think the "Uprising" in the title is all about? It certainly wasn't for the movie I just watched..

The trailer for Pacific Rim: Uprising


Coincidentally, I was playing Into the Breach recently and just realised that it's a 16-bit homage to Pacific Rim. It's a super difficult game. Love it.

Sort:  

A lot of movies have become predictable, I liked Transformers for example something different .

Hello and good morning @kevinwong.

Always a great pleasure coming across your blogs because I learn some few stuffs and tricks too. Haha 😀😀.

That apart, I'm just getting to know that this is the sequel to the 2013 or 14 Pacific Rim. Well, I can't recall fully now. But I did enjoy the former a bit, yeah I'm just in love with anything sci-fi I guess.

This certainly caught my eyes with the trailer and I'm going to watch it, guess I now have to include it in my budget. Thought they dealt with all these freaking beasts when their link to earth was destroyed, but anyways I love that there's a sequel.

And oh, who wouldn't want to watch a movie with Jing Tian? Haha,😂😂.

Keep being amazing and inspirational as always. And Happy SteemVersary 😀

It never ends with Hollywood. The franchise will get milked until they add some Marvel and DC Comics crossover with 128 superheroes in one movie.. oh it's steemversary?!

Haha 😂😂😂
Crossover with 128 superheroes is surely what is trending these days😂😂, it just keep going like that. And Yeah, SteemVersary it is as I call it, Steemit is 2 years old today. Praying for the greater success of the platform and better days ahead.

Cheers 😀😀🎊

I really like science fiction movie and the first part of pacific rim was quite nice so i will definitely go to watch this movie. Thanks for the review.

This film is bad, one of the worst sequel I saw in the cinema. There are no kaejus, except in the last quarter of an hour when we are placed 3 at once. The transformation of the Power Ranger is so ridiculous that it is laughable. The staging is catastrophic, robots that make karate ????? Serious??

Yeah exactly. I like the campiness!

Well, i have been quite a sucker for movies, dont really find them interesting.
Some made up characters and story line do actually nothing to impress.
They've been quite a few i have watched though.
I can however, spend 24 hours a day watching documentaries.

What's an interesting doco u've come across recently?

A very good sequel but didn't have a good storyline. The fight scenes are off the charts and also its a must watch on the big screens once!!!! Over all the movie is a great one!!!

The story totally sucks! haha.. it's passable for the action though

Hahaha. I agree

Thanks for the review! Not very motivated to go and watch it, feels more like I should watch if ever the time comes I have nothing better to do ;)

I love the photo you used in the intro though, haha

Yeah I had nothing better to do! lol (on both counts :P)

Hahaha!!! A good detailed analysis of your experience at the Cinema.
I love Denzel Washington's movie so much would rushed for his movies irrespective of the cost
Hahaha!!! You finished your popcorn that early. Lol!!!

Been a year since i ate popcorn lol. and it's quite good popcorn too, very rare around these parts

I do like these kind of movies, however there was something missing. I loved movie “Transformers” I think they made “Pacific Rim” based on success of “Transformers”. Didn’t get me as much. In fact I would call it a big, brash, unpretentious B movie that lives down to its billing: robots punching monsters — it does what it says on the Rim.
Great review though!

Exactly, I wouldn't think too much about its cliches and all. It doesn't pretend to be a deep movie at all

You sound very original means you say what you feel and I really like watching movies.
but unfortunately in my city Lhokseumawe there is no cinema because the government of Lhokseumawe city, Indonesia does not allow the cinema.
I watched most of the movies online.
Thanks for sharing your experience with us and have a great day.

Really? I didn't know that. Good thing there's the internet..

yes, the internet is very useful.
I hope the future of my city allows cinema

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44