📷 Oppo F5 Selfie Expert Unboxing and Review 📷

in #review7 years ago (edited)

sea oppo.jpg
Image Credit

Is it worth its price tag of PHP15,990? You're free to conclude after reading.

P_20171122_164951.jpg
[Actual Unboxing]

I won't compare it head-to-head with other phones in this article but I will tell you about my hands-on experience with it for about three weeks.

To start with, here are the basic specifications:

IMG20171122173655.jpg
[Specs in the Manual]

First Impressions

It's advertised with 32GB storage. Half of it is full of system files though, so I can only use about 16GB.
I'm glad that it came with a protective case and just for purchasing anything at least PHP150 ($3.00), the Oppo Store at SM mall (Taytay, Rizal) gave me a bunch of accessories! I bought the OTG storage (16Gb). In turn, I got the Olike Bluetooth speaker, a selfie stick, a set of clip-on camera lenses for smartphones, charging cord protector (set of 2), a waterproof bag, a power bank and a cellphone clip stand.

P_20171122_165125.jpg

IMG20171124134231.jpg

IMG20171124134435.jpg

IMG20171124132231.jpg

IMG20171129125956.jpg

All the accessories have been working well so far. The only thing I didn't like is the macro lens. It's more like a fish-eye lens since it just distorts the corners of the image and doesn't allow me to zoom in much closer to the subject as I expected.

Navigation

Everything runs smoothly. Thanks to its 4GB RAM and octa-core CPU! The Android 7.1 Nougat OS allows you split the screen and view two apps at the same time!

Screenshot_2017-12-06-22-53-07-41.png

I was lost at first since swiping down from the top reveals only the notifications. The settings can be pulled up from the bottom which I learned much later than I should to save some headaches.

Screenshot_2017-12-06-22-53-17-65.png

[Actual Screenshots]

RAM.jpg
Image Credit
CPU.jpg
Image Credit

20171125172206_IMG_0005.jpg

Camera

You can see actual photos of the rear camera here.
I'm not fond of selfies but here are some examples just to demonstrate it.

IMG20171206162508.jpg

By default, the DSLR effect is ON for the front camera. It electronically blurs the background.

IMG20171122170253.jpg

I don't like the haze it produces on the edges between the foreground and the blurred background. That's a big reason for me to stick to using my DSLR!

IMG20171123015532.jpg

The best thing is it works well in low-light conditions as well as the facial unlock feature.

AI Cam.jpg
Image Credit

Camera.jpg
Image Credit

Face Oppo.jpg

Audio

Being an audiophile, I'm not satisfied with the built-in speaker. It's not as loud as I like (It's mono). I was just convinced by the shop assistant to choose it because it comes with a free Bluetooth speaker (which sound quality is optimized for loudness. It's mid-range heavy as I expected and I think it's an inevitable tradeoff for better overall loudness. The headset that came with it may sound better if you add foam to increase the bass response. The pre-installed music player has only three bands for the equalizer but or course, I can install another player anytime.

IMG20171122170930.jpg

Google Voice Search

The google voice feature was cool. It answered very important questions for me in the beginning and it allows me to set alarms and reminders using simple voice commands like: "Remind me about cleaning the aquarium./Wake me up at nine." The only reason I turned off the 'listen anytime' feature is the annoying notification it prompts me repeatedly whenever I use the camera for video recording. Now, I have to hold the home button to activate it before speaking.

24020132_10155691796698046_750651972_n.png

Screenshot_2017-11-24-03-23-46-31.png

Screenshot_2017-11-25-02-19-02-36.png

Malfunctions

Screenshot_2017-11-28-23-33-29-37.png
The keyboard failed to rotate completely once and it corrected itself after rotating the phone again.

It failed me miserably only once. I was looking at my notes when the screen locked and turned off due to inactivity. I could not wake it up with my fingerprint as usual. Pressing or holding the power button didn't do anything. I had to take the common sim card and SD card tray out. It only turned back on after reinserting the tray. The good thing was it reloaded the open apps and I did not lose any data!

Internet (Data)

Screenshot_2017-11-29-09-07-23-04.png
It's where I got the fastest internet speed so far, even in places with spotty signal.

Battery Life

Screenshot_2017-11-27-09-11-28-72.png

The battery life I noticed is quite impressive. I never have to worry about running out even on 50%. It definitely lasts me at least a whole day even after taking almost a hundred photos with the camera.

Screenshot_2017-11-26-23-33-10-79.png

Security

The fingerprint sensor and facial recognition features are life-savers! They work seamlessly and the facial recognition feature also works in low-light condition, especially if you program a face-unlock in low light and normal lighting condition as well. Even switching between encrypted apps is fluid for as long as your face is seen clearly by the front camera.

Conclusion

Is it the right phone for me? - Yes. Do I consider it perfect? - No. There's always a room for improvement since, of course, it's far from the top-of-the-line model. I didn't find any phone with speakers that match the Lenovo Vibe X3 (2 front-firing speakers). The tradeoff is I got to use one of the latest OS from Android and being able to view two apps at the same time is its best feature in my opinion. Is it worth the price - Yes, for photography and gaming enthusiasts. For those who will use it occasionally or just for the usual calling, texting, internet and occasional photography, it's overkill.

Thanks for reading/viewing!

[Credits to the Author of Life]

Awards Nov 2017.png

Sort:  

I have discovered a really interesting feature of the front camera. It uses the screen as a flash. It makes the screen completely white so it helps illuminate your face at close-range. Why doesn't every phone manufacturer do this for every model?

The digital bokeh effect is really lacking there.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

wow, I think it's pretty legit and the camera is way better than I expected

Yeah, you can see actual photos of the rear camera here.

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in: https://harianhargahp.com/harga-oppo-f5-terbaru/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58139.39
ETH 2454.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36