"Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind" artbook review

in #review7 years ago (edited)

Today I want to share with you my another artbook review, and this time it's "Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind" artbook. 

"Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind" is Hayao Miyazaki's animates movie created in 1984. It was based on 1982 year manga. As always I include some scanned pages to the post so you can have a look and may be decide that you also want to have the artbook for yourself.

I'm sure if you're reading this review you have seen the cartoon, but if not - I'll tell a few words about the plot. It's one of those post-apocalyptic scenery telling about how people survive in such conditions, destroying the world and each other. The main character is the princess of the valley of the wind named Nausicaa. She confrunts the kindom of Tolmekia, that tryes to destroy a nearby jungle of mutant insects (the sea of collapse), cause the girl can find a common language with them, while others can't. May be you have seen my art "Om" in previous posts, so, it's how they look like.

To avoid spoilers I will stop the plot description here:)

Now about the artbook itself. Well, it's not the kind of artbook I usually like. As a concept artist I love to see concepts in them, the more the better. While in this artnook there only Miyazaki's watercolor paintings, scenes from the film. 99% of them include the depiction of the princess Nausicaa. But it's so cool to see the masters work!

There's a few maps included, to show the general scenery of the cartoon.

Most of the pictures include Hayao Miyazaki's comments on the opposite page. Well, it's interesting to read them, but I think it would be great to place some sketches on to the empty place, there's so much of it:)

All the pages are so similar that I even can't think of what else to write. But anyway the artbook is quite interesting. Basically for Miyazaki's art lovers.

On the last pages - finally!!! - you can find some black and white dynamic sketches.

So, this review was pretty short:)  But as I already said, my artbooks collection is quite big, so this is only the third one of all the reviews I plan to write. If you missed the other reviews, about the artbook "Goblinoids" and "Star Wars the Old Republic", you can find it following these links:

https://steemit.com/drawing/@inber/goblinoids-by-scott-purdy-artbook-review-more-pictures-inside

https://steemit.com/gaming/@inber/the-art-of-making-star-wars-star-wars-the-old-republic-artbook-review-more-pics-inside

Please upvote and follow if you liked my review, more and more are coming soon:)

Sort:  

wow really cool keep it up

Thank you:) And yep, I will:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48