"Goblinoids" by Scott Purdy - artbook review (more pictures inside:)

in #drawing8 years ago

I have a big collection of artbooks, I think most artists have. It includes artbooks about classic art, but mostly they're about games and movies. Or typically artistic ones, that includes "how to" instructions. Today I'm posting my first artbook review, hope you'll like it and find it usefull.

Everyone who knows me for less or more long time also knows, that I adore goblinoids:) Most of my time I work on commercial comissions, but when I have a free minute and a possibility to draw whatever I want - I draw goblins and orcs. 

So - "Goblinoids" by Scott Purdy. How to draw and paint goblins, orcs and other dark creatures.

It wasn't my first one, my friend brought it to me from Belgium. And I must admit that I was and still am totally happy with this book. First of all - some technical characteristics. It doesn't have a hard cover, insude there are 127 pages full of information. 


I've scanned some of them for this review to show you more specifically what I'm talking about.

Book includes a quick introduction, that tells about goblinoids and there types, and then preciptiously jumps in the drawing techniques. What I like most about it - anatomy of the creatures is shown really amply, from general structure to sceleton structure. As for me - I'd love to see also muscular structure, but it's missed here. What I mean - every artist knows, how to build shapes from primitives, but the muscular structure needs more attention.

The book also contains a few information about building the colour pallete for your drawing and a lot - about how to create your art step by step, from basic shapes sketching to final render.Following these tutorials can provide a great service for begginers and refresh memory of advanced artists. Replication was always a good way to understand the secrets of the craft.

Last pages include some "brainstorming" tables that can be used to form the mood and outfit of the characted you're going to create. It applies not only to goblinoids, it's usefull for nearly all types of character desighn.

Well it's not the kind of game artbook where all the concepts are included, but it's a fun, good quality book that can help you find some inspiration when you lost one, after all, all artists experience that from time to time:)

So, the conclusion:)

Would I recomend it? Yes. In it an advertising? No, I just want to share my collection with you and hope that you'll find it useful!:)

This way my first try, but more artbook reviews are coming soon and they'll be bigger and more detailed. World of Warcraft, Star Wars and Hobbit artbook reviews are coming soon!:)

It'll mean a lot to me if you'll upvote and resteem this post, and also I'll be really grateful for following. Thank you for your attention, have a nice day!:)

Sort:  

I've seen them!)

Really?:) Well, we don't have such books in my country, so my friend bought it for me on a vocation. It's not a 'serious' artbook, but a fun stuff to have anyway:)

I wish his stuff was available as quality PDF. I don't have room for many books nowadays but would definitely buy this one as a digital download. Have you seen his How To book for Vampires? I hear it's pretty good.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.33 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 06 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

What's wrong with me? I get to that list for the third time. I whish someone could explain me:(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58020.27
ETH 2464.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37