Hacksaw Ridge: A Must See Movie (If You Can Handle Graphic Battle Scenes)

in #review7 years ago (edited)

I just returned from seeing Hacksaw Ridge and I am exhausted. That is not a bad thing. I am simply emotionally spent. I'm kind of a sap so I was near tears for about 120 minutes straight. Holding back tears for two hours takes quite a bit out of a person.



This film was recently re-released in many areas to help create the Oscar buzz that it deserves.

When I returned home, I immediately wanted to tell my wife about some of the highlights of the movie... but I couldn't do it without crying.

So I am writing this instead.

I apologize, but I can't pinpoint exactly why I am so emotional. Its simply that the entire story is so moving. I never cease being amazed at the courage, selflessness, and determination that human beings are capable of. Some people simply have a strength inside them that I truly cannot comprehend. When I see depictions of this greatness... it moves me.

Considering Hacksaw Ridge is based on the true story of Private Desmond Doss, hopefully I can't possibly spoil the movie for anyone (but I promise not to write too much). It is simply an amazing story. I can't believe it took 70 years for someone to put it on the big screen.



This is more than a "war movie" it is the story of a strong MAN and soldier.

Desmond Doss was a very religious man from Virginia. He was so religious in fact, that he promised God that he would never touch a gun. He loved his country, his family, his wife, and his countrymen. Not much of a story there... unless it happens to be 1944 and your country is at war.

Desmond felt such sense of duty that, even though he vowed never to break his promise to God, he chose to take part in WWII (he refused a deferment that he was entitled to due to his job working at a shipyard). I specifically used the words "take part" because he clearly was not volunteering to fight. His promise to God was the only thing more important to him than his sense of duty. After much thought and prayer, Desmond determined he could do both. He would become a medic and save lives while those around him were taking them.



"During the battle the Medic was Often the Difference between Life and Death"
(The Collegedale Veterans Memorial in Tennessee)

He chose to go into battle without a weapon.

His only goal was to save as many people as he could.

That is Courage


And save people he did. Desmond Doss earned the Medal of Honor for saving 75 men in one bloody battle... without ever firing a shot.



President Harry S. Truman presented Doss with the Medal of Honor on Oct. 12, 1945

Ok. The story is clearly amazing. Unfortunately, in Hollywood, that is not always enough. It is quite common for writers and directors to take an amazing story and tell it in a flat, emotionless or boring way. For me, that is is exactly what happened with the movie Unbroken. I wanted that film to move me. I wanted to cry. But I didn't. I felt cheated... because that story deserved my tears.

This does not happen to Desmond Doss's story in Hacksaw Ridge. The movie is written by Andrew Knight and Robert Schenkkan. It is directed my Mel Gibson. The trio manages to not overthink anything. The story is amazing! All they had to do, is tell it. The acting is also exceptional. Specifically, I thought Andrew Garfield did a great job playing a humble, yet strong, hero.

Although the movie is a bit formulaic, it was still excellent. Sometimes, formulaic is ok. As long as you have an excellent story, there is no need to over-complicate things.



This story is amazing. Now get out there and don't screw it up.

I can almost see the story board and hear the discussions between the writers and director...

"Ok. We have 120 minutes. The first 25 minutes we will show the hero's back story. We will show a life changing event from his youth. Then he'll fall in love with a girl. He will have to overcome some obstacle with his family. The audience will love him!"

Yes. This member of the audience did love him.

The conversation would continue, "For the next 25 minutes we will show him in basic training. We can make it like the first part of Full Metal Jacket... but less dark. The rest of his platoon won't like him at first. Maybe he can earn their respect. We can even have a humorous Drill Sergeant. Hmmm who can we get?"

They got Vince Vaughn to play the Drill Sergeant . He does a surprisingly good job in the role and cracks some pretty good one liners.

Perhaps one of the trio would post out that they were missing part of the incredible tale.

"But what about his court battle with the U.S. Army? We need a great courtroom scene. We can have him give and awesome speech explaining his motivation. It will be great!"

It really was.

The next part of the conversation was probably the easiest.

"For the next 45 minutes we will show incredibly graphic battle scenes. I mean really bloody and gory. Think the beginning of Saving Private Ryan, but for 45 minutes straight."



I respect the time and effort put into the battle scenes. They appear very realistic. But for me, that was the problem. They were too realistic. I was really hoping I would be able to show this movie to my students. That is impossible. This movie earned it's "R" rating with quite a bit of brutal deaths. It is a war movie after all. War is brutal.

But that still leaves 15 minutes. With those 900 seconds, the creators went for the knockout.

"Finally, we will show exactly what a hero is. We will show Doss being brave, relentless, selfless, strong and caring. He won't give up. He will keep running into danger over and over. And after he saves each person, he will appear exhausted and he will say..."

"Please Lord, help me get one more."



Heroes rush towards danger while others run from it.

"And Doss will. He will save one more. Then another. Then another. And when some amateur writer goes to blog about it, he will think of that line and he will cry."

I am.

If you are able to handle the incredibly grizzly battle scenes, Hacksaw Ridge is a must see. If you can't handle those scenes, then I recommend you watch the documentary on which this film was based.

Desmond Doss deserves to have his story known.

Have any of you seen this movie? What did you think?

Image Links 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Sort:  

@HanShotFirst, your post has been chosen by @STEEMNEWS.ONLINE as one of today's promoted posts for its excellent content. We've upvoted, resteemed and published it through Facebook & Twitter.

As the author of a SNO featured article, you've been awarded one TRAIL coin. Please stop by the SteemTrail Discord server to learn more about how to claim your TRAIL coin. You will need an Open Ledger account to do so.

STEEMNEWS.ONLINE is the @SteemTrail for #news and watches the #steemnews tag most closely. Please consider supporting excellent news articles by making steemnews.online one of your operators on Streemian, in addition to steemtrail.

Thank you for your hard work and contribution of excellent content to Steemit.

If you would rather not be promoted by STEEMNEWS.ONLINE, please inform us by replying to this comment and we will honor your request.

@hanshotfirst, looks like a good movie. I appreciate your recent support my friend. Best wishes from @runridefly

Thanks! And its my pleasure. You are a truly positive force around here. We need that!

I saw it the other day , incredible !

I couldn't agree more. Thanks for taking the time to share!

We do need more real life heroes like this beautiful man. I was crying all the way through.

I know! I was seriously exhausted at the end. But also uplifted.

I have been completely out of the loop when it comes to what's in the theaters lately, but my husband and I always catch a movie on Valentine's Day, (cliche I know) even if we don't see another one the rest of the year.
And It looks like you found the perfect one for us ;) That sounds amazing, I am a huge cry baby when it comes to stories like these, my husband's arm will be drenched, haha! Great review, can't wait to watch it :)

I loved the movie but I don't know if it would be a Valentine's Day movie for everyone. Its pretty intense and violent. I know me and my wife would not mind... but definitely take that into consideration.

We save the romantic comedies for couch cuddle time since they don't lose much watching them on a smaller screen without cinematic effect. But movies like Braveheart, or the Lord of The Rings trilogy--those are best in theaters. Intense and violent doesn't bother me, all I need to know-Best on the Big Screen, yay or nay? :)

First hour is good on the small screen. But the battle scenes are amazing so that last hour is good in theaters. My wife and I love the Lord of The Rings! Saw them all in the theater together... and now we have raised geek children who will watch the 4 hour extended DVDs with us. I am the exact same way right now. I only see movies in the theater if that adds to the experience (or kids movies). I feel this did add to the experience for the last hour.

It was definitely essential, it adds so much more depth to when he saves Aragorn from the river!
Oh, I cry too...I would love watching movies with you- my husband teases me for the waterworks the big jerk! LOL. We both share the same love for the trilogy, but he's a 'crying on the inside' kinda guy ;) My dad is the only other one in my family who becomes a faucet with touching scenes.
And then there's the music, the epic music, sigh,..I have all the soundtracks too.
That's the coolest wedding ring I've ever heard of.
Rogue One was awesome. It was a family outing planned weeks in advance ;) As for La La land, I had to look it up just now. I like the leads but it's nothing I would get excited about, definitely not what I would consider theater worthy.

OMG "it adds so much more depth to when he saves Aragorn from the river!" I know!!!! Exactly!

I still think I cry more than my wife... but its close.

Thanks for the compliment on the ring. Best part is that it was $20! My wife is very cool.

My wife and kids and I went to Rogue one on opening night. Been back twice since.

Oh God, I could talk and talk about the Lord of The Rings! I don't even think I could watch the theatrical releases at this point, every bit of the 30-50 extra minutes per movie is necessary in my opinion. Some of the cuts were really important to the story. Faramir's background, the scene where Aragorn asks for Brego to be set free, the scene where Saruman orders fanghorn forest to be cut down...just to name a few, ha!
I have also raised geek children who will watch the extended, we've done weekend marathons...in fact we're due for one of those!
Unless you know of any other movie out that is big screen worthy, Hacksaw Ridge sounds like the winner :)

I could not agree with you more! The scene with Aragorn and the horse Brego is one of my favorites in the entire movie. It was essential.

I cry every time Aragorn says, "My friends, you bow to no one".

I lost my wedding ring during some major construction in my house. Replaced with "The One Ring" complete with elvish inscription... you and I are going to get along just fine lol.
Have you seen Rogue One? That is the only other one that I would say is a must right now. People are digging La La Land... but that really isn't for me.

I thought Andrew Garfield did an amazing job. He is truly an Actor and not just a personality in front of a camera. Great to see Mel having some success again. Great movie in my opinion.

I agree 100%. I almost made a comparison between this, Braveheart and the Patriot... but it was already pretty long.

Hands down one of the best movies in recent years. Desmod Doss is unlike any hero before, a battle priest :) He saved his people and inspired them to fight and win.
I also liked Vince Vaughn in the movie, he has moved far from his standard dumb comedy roles. Dude is born to be a drill sergeant.

Absolutely! I was amazed at his story. Vaughn did a great job. They set him up to deliver some great one liners. I bet he had a ton of fun playing that role.

I've been meaning to check it out. I will do so.

I really think you will like it. The first hour is fine for the small screen but the battle scenes are pretty amazing n the large screen. But I don't think watching on tv will take too much away from the overall experience.

I watch stuff on my 4K tv 43" and Surround sound most of the time. I do not particularly enjoy going to the theaters anymore. I used to love it and live for it. Now I tend to get annoyed by people talking when I'm trying to watch movies, cell phones, etc. :)

Sounds like an awesome set up! This will be awesome for it. It comes out on DVD in a couple of weeks.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.89 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 10 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Andrew Garfield and Mel Gibson? One actor which finally has find its way into serious films and one person (?), Mel Gibson, which is mostly done? Such a horrible combination.

Mel Gibson only directs it. Did you see it?

Yes, I knew he directed it. And I haven't seen it yet. I will do it when I finish seen the current nominees for the Razzie Awards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67651.53
ETH 3845.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65