You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hacksaw Ridge: A Must See Movie (If You Can Handle Graphic Battle Scenes)

in #review7 years ago

I have been completely out of the loop when it comes to what's in the theaters lately, but my husband and I always catch a movie on Valentine's Day, (cliche I know) even if we don't see another one the rest of the year.
And It looks like you found the perfect one for us ;) That sounds amazing, I am a huge cry baby when it comes to stories like these, my husband's arm will be drenched, haha! Great review, can't wait to watch it :)

Sort:  

I loved the movie but I don't know if it would be a Valentine's Day movie for everyone. Its pretty intense and violent. I know me and my wife would not mind... but definitely take that into consideration.

We save the romantic comedies for couch cuddle time since they don't lose much watching them on a smaller screen without cinematic effect. But movies like Braveheart, or the Lord of The Rings trilogy--those are best in theaters. Intense and violent doesn't bother me, all I need to know-Best on the Big Screen, yay or nay? :)

First hour is good on the small screen. But the battle scenes are amazing so that last hour is good in theaters. My wife and I love the Lord of The Rings! Saw them all in the theater together... and now we have raised geek children who will watch the 4 hour extended DVDs with us. I am the exact same way right now. I only see movies in the theater if that adds to the experience (or kids movies). I feel this did add to the experience for the last hour.

It was definitely essential, it adds so much more depth to when he saves Aragorn from the river!
Oh, I cry too...I would love watching movies with you- my husband teases me for the waterworks the big jerk! LOL. We both share the same love for the trilogy, but he's a 'crying on the inside' kinda guy ;) My dad is the only other one in my family who becomes a faucet with touching scenes.
And then there's the music, the epic music, sigh,..I have all the soundtracks too.
That's the coolest wedding ring I've ever heard of.
Rogue One was awesome. It was a family outing planned weeks in advance ;) As for La La land, I had to look it up just now. I like the leads but it's nothing I would get excited about, definitely not what I would consider theater worthy.

OMG "it adds so much more depth to when he saves Aragorn from the river!" I know!!!! Exactly!

I still think I cry more than my wife... but its close.

Thanks for the compliment on the ring. Best part is that it was $20! My wife is very cool.

My wife and kids and I went to Rogue one on opening night. Been back twice since.

Oh God, I could talk and talk about the Lord of The Rings! I don't even think I could watch the theatrical releases at this point, every bit of the 30-50 extra minutes per movie is necessary in my opinion. Some of the cuts were really important to the story. Faramir's background, the scene where Aragorn asks for Brego to be set free, the scene where Saruman orders fanghorn forest to be cut down...just to name a few, ha!
I have also raised geek children who will watch the extended, we've done weekend marathons...in fact we're due for one of those!
Unless you know of any other movie out that is big screen worthy, Hacksaw Ridge sounds like the winner :)

I could not agree with you more! The scene with Aragorn and the horse Brego is one of my favorites in the entire movie. It was essential.

I cry every time Aragorn says, "My friends, you bow to no one".

I lost my wedding ring during some major construction in my house. Replaced with "The One Ring" complete with elvish inscription... you and I are going to get along just fine lol.
Have you seen Rogue One? That is the only other one that I would say is a must right now. People are digging La La Land... but that really isn't for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62585.78
ETH 3013.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49