You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Power of Plotlessness

in #review6 years ago

I've never heard of the filmmakers and directors you're showing here before.
When I watched Clips from Waking Life, I felt confirmed what I often think. Also about myself. That we live in an age in which everyone with mission consciousness is or wants to be a philosopher. All the messages that can be found in the dialogues shown are already there and can be felt as resonance. Everything has already been said once by someone sometime. We are like modern gurus who proclaim the truth in all its forms, colors and types. The dialogues also reminded me a little of those from Woody Alan's films. Very intellectual and very skilled in speaking. Speaking in itself and the many words make me jump mentally and I come from the hundredth to the thousandth. A little like being stuck in a beehive and where there is little room for silence. On the other hand, this cacophony of words can become a noise and one can distance oneself from them. For example, when you are at a noisy party and move away from it inwardly ...

But also the variety of human manifestations becomes clear in this short clip. All the characters and their special and typical forms of speech, their enthusiasm on the one hand and their calmness, the wink and the deep seriousness on the other. People are so incredibly different in their efforts to understand.

On the one hand one is inclined to throw all this overboard and say: Oh, what's all the gossip (!) and on the other hand intuitively to pick up what moves you inside. What has been said therefore seems as useless as it is useful.

I think it is rather the silence between the sentences that has power.

What we have in common is that we seem to be asleep for the most part. Why else would it surprise you to age, fall ill and die? What's "new" about things that I'm getting older, that I'm definitely dealing with serious illnesses and that I'm mortal? It's not even bad news, it's just reality.

When my mother lay lying dead in the chapel, our neighbour, over eighty years old, gave her a hearty kiss on her dead mouth and said caressingly: "Oh, Lindachen, I will miss you!" This woman has so often seen death and greeted it that she does not shy away and radiates a vigilance and liveliness that is emitted by people who acknowledge this reality.

We others, on the other hand, have the feeling that when we see a dead man and he lies still and motionless on the bed, that we are in a dream. Talking about death and showing it in film and book is what you initially called it: You can't learn ploughing from a book.

Behind the statements of the different characters may therefore stand real experiences, or at least the real experiences of others who are intuitively perceived as true.

My holiest moment was probably when I looked into the eyes of my mother, who died a week later and discovered an incredible amount of wisdom. We both knew that she would leave.
She died in the month of my birthday and in the morning of the same I had a very intense dream that helped me over her death. It was moving and as real as anything can be.

Sort:  

I agree very much, one of the reasons I struggle to write (kind of blockage) is because I feel all has been said before and probably better. There is a need though I guess, to refresh and reinterpret ideas for an ever changing society. And to know what fits the moment and what is not important to keep the 'noise' down.

I forget to mention that many of the 'characters' in Waking Life, are in fact writers, philosophers, activists...expressing their personal views and area of work..

That's a very moving story. Events like those really make one think..

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh yes, very much so. Thing is every one has to take on his own journey and to find expressions for their insights. I actually like that ordinary people do seek deeply for waking up. In former societies it was a little easier as religion provided for everything and one only was asked to believe instead of investigate. Though, the Buddhists obviously never did this. Which I like even more.

I meet the same hesitance and think: well, so many people have said it better than I. Why bother?
But I do it for my sake and then it has also good influence for the sake of others. That what it is about, right?

Yes, I think so...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53