Book Review & Top Quotes: TIGERMAN by Nick Harkaway

in #review6 years ago

While my list of books-to-read continues to stack up with spectacular recommendations by @naquoya and other great Steemians, I have had trouble getting over the Nick Harkaway bug. The very talented British author continues to breathe life into characters and settings alike and thus, the end result is that I am truly captivated every time I open up one of his books.


Source

Tigerman was no exception. Set on the fictional island of Mancreu, Harkaway instills immediate intrigue (almost had me some alliteration there) by placing a countdown clock on this tropical setting. You see, the island has been off gassing some pseudo-radioactive clouds (due to prior pollution) that have been deemed far too dangerous. Consequently, the international community has agreed to abandon and nuke the holy hell out of the island as a cure-all. However, before that takes place, there is a wonderful gray area off the coast of Mancreu that is exploited by many nations who have ships conducting questionable interrogations, detainments, and medical experiments.

Amidst it all, our main character, Sergeant Lester Ferris, is the assigned British “brevet-consul”. The good-guy sergeant splits his time between navigating the aforementioned legally gray minefield while growing a friendship (that is quickly becoming paternal in nature) with a local kid prodigy. Shortly into the book, disaster strikes (no spoilers!!) and Sgt. Ferris finds himself responding (to his own amazement) by assuming an almost comic-book identity as the “Tigerman”.


Image provided by Pixabay

And while my set up for the book may strike you as a bit outlandish, allow me to reassure you that the story is kept realistic with Harkaway grounding it in emotion and impactful dialogue, instead of overburdening it with campy costumes and superpowers. On the contrary, this book had several passages that stirred a tangible sense of real-world familiarity in me. Here are three of my favorite passages I highlighted while reading through this excellent novel:

With reference to enduring untimely deaths of those who we hold dear:

Sorrow was something you did best if you did it while other things were happening, or it could freeze you in place.

Sure, life has rhythm and for those that are lucky, even meaning, but far more often chaos seems to prevail. I thought Harkaway articulated this idea perfectly here:

”...life has no understanding of proper structure,” the boy said, “which is why news stories are always made of little lies.”

And finally for those of us that remember trying to muster up (or drinking up) our courage to approach that prom date or that friend who could have been a bit more, but then regrettably, he or she would just become “the one that got away":

Even if the mood between them was still strained. And in that connection: perhaps that was why the mood was strained. He had had that experience with a girl once, had waited and waited for the right moment to ask her out and it had never come, and their friendship—which they had both vowed they wanted to preserve above all else—had decayed and faded away, because the central plank of it was that question. There came a time with any unconsummated desire of whatever sort when you simply had to speak up or let it go.

I thought on each of these quotes for several moments after reading them. Quite often, the existence of gems like these within the story determines if I really loved a book or not. Needless to say, I did indeed thoroughly enjoy Tigerman. Paling only in comparison to his magnum opus, The Gone-Away World, I give Nick Harkaway’s 2014 novel, a very strong 4.5 out of 5 stars. Great stuff!

Until next time, keep on steem’n folks!

Sort:  

Those are indeed some nice quote gems. I think I need to be on the lookout for when an author might insert these since I tend to skim as if I was reading a movie. I think I might have some mental notes about how to do that hehe.

The review was great, I think I'll keep it on my radar :)

Thanks @eonwarped! You crazy skimmer, gotta slow down and enjoy the music....errr the...literary gold!! Until then, I'll keep sharing the best stuff I find with you. Stay awesome my friend!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 80 (3/21/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Woohoooo.......wait, I mean... ChooooChoooo!!! Thanks @thesteemengine!

The cover has a comic book like, or even pulp era feel to it. But your review gives clarity to just what type of novel this is. It sounds riveting, a mix of political intrigue, and personal drama. Thanks for the review, and now adding to my list of books to check out :)

You're right on point as usual @naquoya! Someday I will achieve master reviewer status like you have! Until then, don't read too fast - I have to catch up with all those awesome books you've been recommending. Thanks as always for the support!

Seems like great stuff. Will definitely be taking a look.

Sweet, I finally have my first violinist friend courtesy of steemit!! Pleasure to meet you @silentscreamer (that's one bad ass username by the way)! I'll be following you to see all your work. Thanks a ton for stopping by!

Hehe. Love your work. Do you have a discord account? You should create one. Whole steemit is on Discord. It will help you promote your content... Here is a link to the first stop on discord. Dont worry, its not a phishing scam... 😁https://discord.gg/Ye8cGsa

Yes ma'am! I am on the glorious discord indeed! I'm just @artibeus on there as well, and you gotta love the PAL Group! Thanks so much for looking out for me though!

If you keep this high quality of content up there will be plenty looking out for you. 😁

Too kind, madam!!! Thank you!

4.5 out of 5. That is a strong recommendation. However, I am not adding anything to my list. I am so far behind I can't stand it. I am doing "the Bible in 90 days" and still have IQ84 sitting on my desk taunting me.

Lol, love the honesty @coldsteem! And holy power rankings, you hit the big 60! Congrats my friend - should I refer to you as Mr. Whale from here on out?! Haha!

Sounds like a great book. I love the quotes you included, especially: Sorrow was something you did best if you did it while other things were happening, or it could freeze you in place. I can absolutely relate.

I know right, @steadfasthealth?!! That quote grabbed me immediately, as so many of us can relate to it with our own moments of sorrow. Heavy but true. Thanks for the support you healthy hottie!

Good steem artibeus.

I gived you a resteem.

Please have a look over this post: https://stееmit.com/@suran/7vnjbb and give me you feedback!
I really want to know what do you think about the article!

Thanks artibeus!

Caution: Phishing Scammer!

Please do not click on the link!

The link will take you away from Steemit.com. Please be careful.

you're welcome :)

Caution: Phishing Scammer!

Please do not click on the link!

The link will take you away from Steemit.com. Please be careful.

Hola @artibeus, upv0t3
Este es un servicio gratuito para nuevos usuarios de steemit, para apoyarlos y motivarlos a seguir generando contenido de valor para la comunidad.
<3 Este es un corazón, o un helado, tu eliges .

: )


N0. R4ND0M:
6333 3470 3112 5979
5370 4862 7284 1549
4015 8014 1052 8819
3428 1808 3079 2702

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Artibeus from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63564.17
ETH 3401.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45