Book Review & Top Quotes: It by Stephen King

in #review6 years ago (edited)

After my last post received a surprisingly warm reception, I decided to use the “Book Review & Top Quotes” format to go back and dissect some of my favorite novels. And since the clown-fearing hysteria is just now beginning to subside after the movie release, I thought I’d drum the terror back up a few pegs by reviewing everyone’s favorite bladder-control-testing horror…It.


Source

As it was featured in the #3 slot of my Top 10 Must-Read Books List, I am not shocking anyone when I say I fell in crazy, deep, clown-obsessed love with It (think Harley Quinn meets the Joker levels of love, for all of you glorious Batman fans). Stephen King has always been, and always will be, a serious favorite of mine. Now, while I can see the rolling eyes of you high and mighty cynics out there, rest assured, I also used to think “Uh huh, you like Stephen King…wow, you are truly cultured!” However, that sarcasm only prevailed until I read The Stand, Under the Dome, The Green Mile, The Dark Tower...you get the point...

The beauty of It (like other King novels) is that you pick the book up interested by the scares promised by the back cover, but then halfway through you realize this ride is inclusive of far more literary diversity than just “horror”. Pennywise the Clown did scare the hell out of us, but amidst the terror there was also an incredible, wonderfully executed coming-of-age story.


Image provide by Pixabay

In It, King masterfully intertwines the timelines of our characters as children and as adults. Both age groups struggle with not only the overt problem of an evil force seizing their town, but with their internal demons that are oh-so-relatable to our own tribulations. This is trademark King as he articulates exactly what so many of us feel, endure, contemplate and agonize over in our own internal dialogues. Don’t believe me? Check out this passage that almost had my Kindle slipping out of my awestruck hands and clattering to the bathroom floor (I do a lot of toilet reading)...

This feeling was purer, more of a mainline high. He thought he recognized the feeling from his childhood, when he had felt it every day and had come to take it merely as a matter of course. He supposed that, if he had ever thought about that deep-running aquifer of energy as a kid (he could not recall that he ever had), he would have simply dismissed it as a fact of life, something that would always be there, like the color of his eyes or his disgusting hammertoes. Well, that hadn’t turned out to be true. The energy you drew on so extravagantly when you were a kid, the energy you thought would never exhaust itself—that slipped away somewhere between eighteen and twenty-four, to be replaced by something much duller, something as bogus as a coke high: purpose, maybe, or goals, or whatever rah-rah Junior Chamber of Commerce word you wanted to use. It was no big deal; it didn’t go all at once, with a bang. And maybe, Richie thought, that’s the scary part. How you don’t stop being a kid all at once, with a big explosive bang, like one of that clown’s trick balloons with the Burma-Shave slogans on the sides. The kid in you just leaked out, like the air out of a tire. And one day you looked in the mirror and there was a grownup looking back at you. You could go on wearing bluejeans, you could keep going to Springsteen and Seger concerts, you could dye your hair, but that was a grownup’s face in the mirror just the same.

Hits you like an old musician’s strum across the guitar strings doesn’t it? Who doesn’t yearn for those days of excitement? Those moments of “feeling it”? And now that King mentions it, weren’t those feelings far more frequent years ago, if not ever-present? Damn, Steve you’re good...but you’re bumming me out!


Image provide by Pixabay

Additionally, at the end of this 1100 page (perfect) monster, I noted the following passage because I remember being truly captivated. On the verge of tears, I could practically hear the narrator’s voice filled with emotion, talking about nothing more than life itself…

Disquiet and desire. What you want and what you’re scared to try for. Where you’ve been and where you want to go. Something in a rock-and-roll song about wanting the girl, the car, the place to stand and be. Oh please God can you dig it.

Perhaps that passage may strike you as a bit out of context, but I’d rather stick to the no-spoilers-ever principle and just encourage you to experience the ending for yourself. I assure you the literary journey, particularly at that moment... is so worth it.

Overall and unsurprisingly, this book scored the highest marks for me with its relatable characters, spine-tingling scares and shockingly palpable emotional themes. #3 on my list for good reason and worth a read whether you have seen the movies or not. Thus, I grant It 5 floating red balloons out of 5, and thank Mr. King with another slow clap of appreciation!

Until next time, keep on steem'n folks!

Sort:  

I loved your review of one of my favorite Stephen King books. I was a kid in the 80's and being drawn to horror, this was one of the first novels I read, and I was pretty young. I was hooked from that moment on and started reading every King book I could find. I was lucky my uncle was a fan, when we went to his house I stole his books. Another one of my favorites was Duma Key, if you've read that one, I'd love to hear your thoughts.

@calumam shared this on the BuddyUP server. You can check out our community here

I have read It exactly once and I don't know if I'll every try again. Maybe it is just me, but I have found Stephen King's books to be extraordinarily wordy slogs of novels, rather It or The Dark Half (the latter of which I enjoyed more by a good margin thanks to a more reasonable length), which are the only ones I've read. They drive me to boredom, honestly. Get to the point, Stephen! You've got plenty of bite, but no snap!

Will be looking out for your next review. I always love reading a good, long review by a reasonably intelligent and enthusiastic reader.

LMAO! Hell of a comment and quite the endorsement, @terry93d - I'm literally still laughing at "reasonably intelligent". Thank you....I think? You did say you'll be looking out for my next review, so definitely thank you actually.

And perhaps you see the parallels between my own wordy nature and the ramblings of big Steve. (Not that I am even a fraction of the literary magician's talent.) I think his long passages and slow (but steady) development of the characters and stories speak to me. Alas, to each their own! Though I would recommend you steer clear of my other favorite, David Foster Wallace - that guy made King look like a man of few words!

Thanks again for the support, @terry93d!

I've already put Infinite Jest on hold - it's too late now!

I will give Stephen King this - he has an utterly unique talent at creating absolutely horrifying people - Hockstetter, Bowers? honestly some of the worst characters I've ever seen, not in the sense of poorly written but in the sense of "we hate these people".

Lol, perfectly said @terry93d! He certainly makes us hate those antagonists in his stories - gives them depth that oozes evil!

This is a fabulous book review. I loved both of the movies and there were some amazing moments of purely psychological terror in them both. I think I need to grab the book and experience what feelings that can provoke.

The literature is astounding. Even just from the passages you shared, I am hooked. It sounds as if it's fascinating and very thought provoking.

The kid in you just leaked out, like the air out of a tire. And one day you looked in the mirror and there was a grownup looking back at you.

This was my favourite line from the top passage. It says so much and is so relatable to the feeling you have when you step into adult shoes.

@calumam!! Thanks so much for the kind words!! And I love your enthusiasm for this great book.

If you enjoyed these quotes you should absolutely put It on your reading list. There is a ton of depth to the story, and so many relatable moments, I know you'll love it.

Thanks again for leaving such a solid comment, and for the support!! Happy Steem'n!

The coming-of-age-story...like Stand By Me with an evil clown that steals children. :)

Lol! Spot on @coldsteem, spot on!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 85 (3/26/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Always feels good to get that choo-choo whistle!! Thanks @thesteemengine!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56