[First Impression] Blacksmith

in #retrogaming6 years ago (edited)

This game with it's handrawn art and quirky gameplay is a strange, unique experience. Is it a good one?

phitfu9c8c.jpg

This post is part of my "First Impression" series:

I'm playing & posting about the games from my backlog. Here I write about them and think whether I'd try finishing them or not. Though many of them are from Indiegala.

Unique Game Experience

The first thing I noticed in Blacksmith is the art, the game looks like drawings sketched by 10 years old child, and I mean that in a good way.


Making tools of copper

Blacksmith concept is simple. You play as the blacksmith of the city and make tools for townspeople and weapons for heroes. There's adventuring part of the game where the heroes go and fight in dungeons.


The hero goes on an adventure.

When you're at your workshop you can walk around, go to sleep and/or talk with visitors.

The interface is cliunky and not intuitive. I had to experiment before I got used to it. I lost some of my materials in my failed attempts to create the first item (a new Pan for the innkeeper.) And after I finally created it, I didn't know I have to give it to him via "trade" window.

But after I got used to it I started to make tools no problem.


Ironwell Town.

Final Thoughts

In my first impression play, I enjoyed the game more than I thought I would. The childish art suits the game very well and after you know how to play it's not a bad game.

Blacksmith has a lot of shortcomings, and I won't say it's a good game... But at least it's better than many Assets Flips out there on the steam store.


Will I try to complete this game?

Maybe...
I want to see how far it keeps me entertained.


Cover image is made using the header and a screenshot of the game. All other images are screenshots taken by me.
Sort:  

At UltimaCorp we like to find and support worthy contributions to the community. Please accept the upvote we have given you! We hope to meet you on our server!

STEEMPUNKNET Discord

Do you want profit and still be helpful?
Delegate some SteemPower to @steempunknet :
[50] [100] [200] [500] [1000]



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.9902657429248137
This post was voted: 62.03%

Hmm... This type of game fo' sho' would be interesting to play my friend. Blerrie heck, I used to play mobile games similar to that; so that probably be up my alley. Welp, upvot'd and resteem'd.

Coolio.gif

Thanks for reading and commenting... I agree it's better than most mobile games I played. PC gamers have the tendency to have high standards.

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50