Indentation: A simple solution to Resteeming

in #resteeming8 years ago

One of the most repeated suggestions people make about Steemit is the idea that resteemed posts need to be made more distinct from the original posts on your feed.


Some suggest that the resteemed posts be relegated to their own page (which would essentially keep anyone from ever seeing them, because no user is going to put in the extra effort to specifically go to your "My Resteemed Posts" page or a special feed just for resteemed posts.)


Others suggest more complicated methods of distinguishing resteemed posts.


But I think the correct answer to this question is actually the simplest.


It's a little thing called "Indentation"


Image Source: here.


It almost requires no explanation, but it basically works like this:


[Pretend that the following is your Steemit feed]

Original post title and description.

Original post title and description.

               Resteemed post title and description.

Original post title and description.

               Resteemed post title and description.

               Resteemed post title and description.

Original post title and description.


Under this system, it's effortless to distinguish which posts are original and which posts are resteemed. More importantly, the original posts are made more prominent than the resteemed posts. In this way, the resteemer does not get punished for sharing a friend's post, which, under the current system, can occlude or distract from one's own posts.


What do you think. Do you agree that this is the best answer, or do you have something better in mind? Let me know in the comments.



Sort:  

It would make things a little more organized, at least.

a gray background like what was recently done with the wallet would also work

I like this idea!😄😇😄😇

At first blush, it would make the "re-steemed" posts more obvious. I would certainly re-steem more articles, given some means of readily distinguishing them from my own posts...

BTW, my "ad-hoc" solution works pretty well, although it is not necessarily immediately obvious to the visitors to my blog. What I have done is to organize my posts by creating a Table of Contents. You can "check it out" by clicking on my Merry Christmas GIF, below:

@creatr

Your ad-hoc solution reminds me of what I do in my Netflixing posts, where I keep a running list that allows the reader to revisit all of my past entries.

It would be an OK intermediate step. But eventually I'd like them completely separate. I'd love to be able to re-steem a friend's post to give them extra exposure without clogging up my own content stream.

Thanks. I hope it catches on.

For a first step I think it would be ideal. Just it is easy to integrate in steemit and we'll be more at peace for imagine the best design !

It really wouldn't be that hard to code up, I should think.

Then again, a lot of that depends on how the current code is written.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.67 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I think it is an elegant idea for a single page glance.

If someone is a big 'resteemer' though, it is going to take an immense amount of scrolling down to find the authors own articles. Case in point, my own account. Three original articles. The rest resteemed. Another filter that would toggle resteemed articles off in a view would still be helpful.

I had not considered that.

There's still a lot of improvements that can be made to the site. It's good for us to talk about them like this, as a community.

Even filter by first tag. My anarchist content and chess match content are very different.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12